Art Attack! #70: A Magical Starry Night 🌙

in OnChainArt3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

If you didn't catch my last post, I managed to snag a deal online for the entire Harry Potter e-book collection and started re-reading all the books back in September 2020! It had been at least 10 years since I first read the Harry Potter books and it was such a different time in my life, so it was good to go back to them again.

But it also inspired me to do some Harry Potter-related art! Last week, I shared a black and white minimalist one I did of Hogwarts:

image.png

But this time I wanted to try another medium. It had been a while since I used oil pastels, so this seemed like a good time to practise. And I found a very cool crossover of Hogwarts with Van Gogh's Starry Night!

There are so many different versions of it online; I guess it's a pretty popular idea and for good reason. It looks so cool! But I wanted to keep it simple since I was using oil pastels, and this seemed like a good one to emulate:

image.png

Source: Amazon

This was the sketch I came up with:

image.png

Then it was time to colour! I started with the yellow first since it's always easier to go light then dark.

image.png

Colouring in the blue next! I had limited options for the shades of blue so mine turned out more royal blue than navy.

image.png

But I tried to blend it with some black and darker blues to at least make the castle stand out more. And I did my best on the reflection of the moon off the castle as well. The buildings were tricky, and I kinda screwed up a little bit, but I outlined them and tried to make them blend into the background.

image.png

It's tough to fill in all the white spots, but I think it turned out pretty well in the end! I blended as well as I could, while trying not to taint the yellow parts too much. And I think the general idea is there. Even though the brush strokes can't really be seen like in the original, I think overall it still looks pretty good!

image.png

This piece is definitely different compared to the other oil pastel pieces I've done since it didn't involve too much blending. But it also meant that any mistakes would be pretty clear. I did consult some youtube tutorials for help and most of them looked pretty simple to follow. Of course they were drawing the original Starry Night so I had to make some adjustments but I really like it! I think this is one of my best oil pastel pieces for sure.

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #69: A Magical Night at Hogwarts! 🌟

Sort:  

!discovery 15

thanks so much for curating @adamada! ^-^


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Wow, so cool!! I love it

aww thanks so much! Glad you like it @delilhavores! ^-^