[Fanart] Creating a custom poster for my friend's birthday

in OnChainArt2 years ago

Greetings!

I'm back to share another art piece I've created as well as a little story with it.

sneak peek.png

Coming up with gifts is always a hard task for me, but luckily for me, my friend loves talking about her favorite shows and franchises. Last year I created a digital artwork of a character from Dragon Age.
However, this year I wanted to gift something physical, and well, my friend does have an entire wall in their room dedicated to art prints and posters, thus I decided to create a custom fanart piece for them.

I quickly decided that it's gotta be a piece based on Fruit Basket - as earlier this year my friend kept talking about the reboot for hours.

Right off the bat, I knew that I want to draw an illustration of the main couple.
I found some clips and screenshotted them for references, both for the character design and the colors.

Ref for characters.png

Then I proceeded to just sketch it out.

initial sketch 0.png

initial sketch 1.png

initial sketch.png

While I loved the composition, I went on to look for inspirations for the background, after all, a poster should be a full illustration.
These are the images I ended up using as references for the background.

Ref for bg.png

And thus my work was getting close to being finished.

Fruit basket no night effect.png

All that was left to do, was to get the lighting suit the mood, properly crop it and add in a bit of grain for that anime feel.

fin smol.png

And ta-dah! Printed work.
Sadly, I don't own a camera that could properly capture it, but I hope this gives an idea. ヾ(。・ω・。)

poster sneak peek.png

Sort:  

Think you did a reasonable job following the style of the anime you were drawing the characters from. More importantly did your friend like the print? :)

Yes! I actually did not expect the reaction I got, as they started happily shrieking in my face and fangirling over it. (❁´ω`❁)

LoL that's a bit cute XD

this is lovely <3

Thank you! ˚✧₊⁎( ˘ω˘ )⁎⁺˳✧༚

Dear @telumen,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!