NONSENSE I SAID - THEY ARE ALREADY WAITING FOR YOU

in OnChainArt4 years ago

“Man has gone out to explore other worlds and other civilizations without having explored his own labyrinth of dark passages and secret chambers, and without finding what lies behind doorways that he himself has sealed.”
― Stanisław Lem, Solaris

IMG_7377psgreyscale.jpg
NONSENSE I SAID - THEY ARE ALREADY WAITING FOR YOU
graphite on paper - 2012 - 30 x 24 cm

February 2013 I published a short story on Facebook where I used this drawing as illustration. Later on it was published part of a magazine about some of my drawings called "Drawings and Words" on Blurb.

ENCOUNTER ON THE S-BAHN

The train was late. They said is was due to the weather - slush and snow in these past few days. The gloomy sky colored everything grey on the platform, the few people patiently waiting appeared like silent wraiths. A candy bar was stuck in the vending machine and a little boy was furiously punching all the buttons when all of a sudden the gears started turning again - on several items: jackpot!

I turned to look down from the elevated platform onto the empty street below. Normally the arrival of the train would be announced, but this time, it just snuck into the station quietly, and only the faint hiss of the doors opening alerted me to its presence. The car was nearly empty. Some of the passengers barricaded themselves with their shopping bags, some would stare vacantly at a point just a foot in front of their nose, others yet pretending to be busy with their cellphones.

A young lady across the aisle was watching something on her i-pad, absentmindedly playing with a ring, twisting it in her fingers, when it suddenly slipped from her grip. With a sparkling trail it rolled across towards me and landed with a soft tinkle under my seat. I retrieved it and handed it to her. As our fingertips touched for a brief moment, the greyness disappeared - I caught a wisp of honey-blond hair, porcelain-blue eyes and a little smile, a silent thank you on her lips. She turned back to her i-pad, brushing the screen lightly with her fingertips - and disappeared. They late afternoon had turned into darkness.


Included in my publication, available on Blurb:
cover_2 6.jpeg



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
Pixels Shop Banner Ad.JPG




If you find this useful, please repost!

Sort:  

Loved the quote from Solaris!

took me a while to find that quote - it sort of resonates with what I believe. As a artist, I often shut off my conscious mind and just let the medium guide me - I see my resulting drawings (such as this one) as they keys for these dark doors.

I agree with you on this one. An artist should let himself go in the creative process