Paint stones with watercolors

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hello!

My name is @veta-less and I have been studying watercolors for several years. I want to show a very simple master class that is suitable for a person of any level and who wants to paint with watercolors. We will draw stone pyramids and paint them with watercolors. It is very meditative.

These are examples of my paintings with stone pyramids. I use black ink, two or three watercolors. You don't need to take a lot of colors. There are also improvised tools-salt and a thin pen for scratching cracks.

image.png

IMG_2496.JPG

image.png

Tools

  • watercolor paper 300 г/м2
  • black ink
  • 2 watercolor colors (for example, indigo and sienna or )
  • paintbrush
  • coarse salt
  • sharp scratching pen
  • pencil
  • eraser
  • water

IMG_2464.JPG

I advise you to choose a thick, smooth paper for watercolors. Usually on such paper there is a mark-satin. But you can choose a paper with any texture.
I like to fix the sheet to the tablet. But if your paper is thick, then such fixation is not required.

IMG_2466 — копия.JPG

Then we take a pencil and draw pyramids of stones. At this point, you can draw the vertical axes so that the drawing is located up on them. Draw different stones. Draw rounded stones. Don't draw stones like potatoes )) You can use images from the Internet to see how to arrange the pyramid.

IMG_2469.JPG

Here I have prepared a palette. Black ink, salt and sponge for soaking and creating effects (optional)

IMG_2470.JPG

Here I picked up watercolors. I use three colors. Green watercolor color with granulation, also the color of caput mortum and burnt sienna.

image.png

Process

Now we will start the most interesting! There are two ways in which we will paint the stones. The first method is to wet the paper with clean water and introduce ink or watercolor. The second method is that we paint dry paper with ink or watercolor and apply effects with salt, water, scratching. We will use both methods.

IMG_2475.JPG

The first stone. We wet the paper with water and add a little ink to this wet spot. The ink will immediately fill the space of the wet spot. We can move the brush and make a few curls. We leave this stone to dry and proceed to another one.

IMG_2477.JPG

The second stone. We'll paint it dry. We take black ink and carefully paint over the surface of the stone. Next, we take salt and pour it on the surface of the stone.

IMG_2479.JPG

The third stone. I took a green watercolor with granulation and painted a dry sheet with this color. While the sheet of paper is wet in this place, I introduced a different color into the paint - burnt sienna and a little caput mortum.

IMG_2480.JPG

The fourth stone. I took a burnt sienna and added a little green color to it. Next, I took a sharp pen and made scratches on the wet stone.

IMG_2481.JPG

This is how we paint every stone. We come up with effects for it, but we should make sure that the colors alternate. We mix watercolor and ink. Here you just need to fantasize. That's what I got.

IMG_2483.JPG

Next, we wait for the watercolor to dry. And this is not the end!

IMG_2492.JPG

We can add another layer of paint. If the stones turned out to be bright and dark the first time, then the second layer can not be added. We can add new layers to the pale stones, but make stripes like on this stone.

At this stage, we remove the dried salt. We can paint the surface of these stones with a second layer of paint. The first layer with mascara will shine through and all the effects will be visible.

We can make stripes, circles or finish the cracks and spots with a thin brush.

image.png

Here is such a stone pyramid I got for this master class. I highly recommend trying watercolor paints with granulation. They create fabulous effects!

Thank you for your attention!

Veta

Sort:  

Very interesting concept. Nice work!

Thanks! I saw this master class, and I liked it so much that I drew several works )