AN ART FOR A BOOK COVER (BLACK COLLEGE LEADERSHIP INPK-12 EDUCATION)

in OnChainArt2 years ago

Hello

cover.png


Some months ago, someone on Instagram commissioned me to make an art for his book cover. He actually saw my artworks in a NFT marketplace, and fell in love with it. So, he asked him to create my magic for him.

BRIEF

brief.png

The brief was for me to paint five adults; Him and the rest of the other authors. Five kids standing in front of them holding either books, laptops, laboratory equipment, etc. Also, the dimension of the book, which was 15 x 24 cm.

the authors.png

I was given portraits of the authors to work with, and the rest of the information I had to research for them. My approach was to get the proportion of their faces first, then their bodies comes later. What I eventually did was scouting for poses that aligned with their faces.

inspiration.png


AUTHORS

man1sketch.png

man1.png

man1combine.png

man2.png

man2full.png

man3sketch.png

man3.png

man3full.png

manwo4.png

manwo4full.png

manwo5.png

manwo5full.png


After presenting the first draft, we decided to exclude the kids, and allow it to just the authors. It was quite a big relieve for me, because I was already drained with research, and I was definitely stalked.

new ivory toldson book.png


BACKGROUND

At first, he wanted a plain background. But, it was looking very vague and uninteresting. That's when I suggested a school to him.

I did a couple of sketches, then I ended up with this.

sketch school.png

sketch 2school.png

sketch 2Bschool.png

sketch 2cschool.png

sketch 4school.png

The authors with the background, and a screenshot of my screen after the final painting.

final ivory toldson black book.png

Screenshot (7).png

Screenshot 2022-08-22 at 17-39-34 DIVS-Toldson.indb - 9789004517585 - Black College Leadership in PK–12 Education Preliminary Material.pdf.png

LINK TO THE BOOK


THANK YOU


TOOLS USED:
PHOTOSHOP
HUION TABLET
MSI PC

https://linktr.ee/YangaArts
https://nftshowroom.com/yanga/gallery
https://app.rarible.com/yanga
https://opensea.io/YangaArts