Boston Terrier Puppy Watercolour Painting

in OnChainArtlast year (edited)

Boston terrier puppy thumbnail.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share a painting process that I did yesterday. I painted a boston terrier puppy in watercolour. Actually I should call it mixed media but I used the other medium so little that I thought they were negligible.

I love dogs in general and I think boston terrier puppies are adorable. I remember one time I found one in a temple and he was just following me but I couldn't take him as I was far from home and I guess the temple people were taking care of him. He seemed to be living there as I found him roaming around upstairs freely and he looked clean and well taken care of. So I finally got to painting this and it took a few hours but it was worth it at the end. Now I have a cute little puppy painting decorating my desk wall.

IMG_20230227_111001.jpg

This is my container of popsicle art prompts. I got boston terrier when I picked a random stick.

Tools and Materials


  • watercolour paper
  • a small round brush
  • a palette to mix paint
  • a HB pencil
  • a dust free eraser
  • a black colour pencil
  • a white charcoal medium pencil

The Process


IMG_20230225_202202.jpg

This is the drawing outline I did using my HB pencil.

IMG_20230225_204610.jpg

I started off the painting with the light colours which are golden brown and sky blue. I only used different amounts of water for them here to make the colour appear at different values.

IMG_20230225_213440.jpg

I felt off because her eyes weren't there so I painted them first before the other parts.

IMG_20230226_115716b.jpg

Then I painted the flowers on her little hairband. I gave them all vibrant colours. Ahmm, I accidentally painted the leaves in pink first. Then I noticed it and painted green on top of it. It ended up looking like a warmer shade of green.

IMG_20230226_125931a.jpg

Here's what she looks like now. I painted her bow more and body as well. The golden shade is supposed to be the shadow while the blue is the highlight.

IMG_20230226_135004.jpg

I added some purple to her bow because I didn't want the same blue again. I added some dark blue and pink as well so it looks different from her skin.

IMG_20230226_140722a.jpg

Here she is almost done. I painted the rest of her skin coating in black.

IMG_20230226_181538.jpg

I added other colours to her fur as well because complete black fur is unrealistic. I used brown mostly and some blue and purple. I also added some shadows under her neck.

IMG_20230226_183932a.jpg

By the way, this is my messy table. I like placing all of the paint containers on the table while I paint. I just realized that I barely used my palette this time except to rest my brush after washing it in the water.

IMG_20230226_184453.jpg

This is the final outcome. I added some shadows to her white fur. I rimmed her eyes using a black colour pencil. I also drew her whiskers. First, I used a white charcoal pencil to draw then when they were appearing on her black fur so they will be visible. Then, I used a black colour pencil to draw the rest of the whiskers so they will be visible on the white background.


ed05f60ccebd8ad5872ed54fe54fb140c09a243462844b88ec04fae574f13b4c.0.png

Thank you for dropping by and I wish that you have a great day ahead.