Ugadhi Festival Telugu New Year Painting

in OnChainArtlast year

Ugadi Painting Thumbnail.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I going to share a painting I did during the Ugadhi festival which was two days ago. It is actually the Telugu New Year. I am Telugu so I celebrated it with my family. It was quite simple. We just had some prayers and a good vegetarian meal. I exchanged my greetings with some friends and family.

I had some time left and decided to make an artwork related to the festival. I also missed using this medium as I gave it to my mother and didn't use it for a month or so. I enjoyed making this art but I got messy and some colours got under my nails -_- Anyway it was easy to clean.

Tools and Materials

  • a sketchbook page
  • a HB pencil
  • oil pastels
  • a dust free eraser to clean up smudges (it actually works!)

The Process


IMG_20230322_183646.jpg

This is my first outline. I drew the pot first because it appears in the background.

IMG_20230322_210002.jpg

Then, I drew some fruits, flowers, leaves and coconuts all around it.

IMG_20230322_221848.jpg

This is the first item I coloured. I chose to start off with the bananas because they are yellow and I was a little paranoid I might accidentally smudge and since yellow is light, it will be harder to cover up.

IMG_20230322_223717.jpg

Then I coloured the coconuts. They are broken coconuts so they look white on the inside. We do break coconuts during auspicious events and festivals which is why I included them in the drawing.

IMG_20230322_224304a.jpg

Next, I coloured the mangoes. Mangoes are actually one of the ingredients used to make a special meal called Ugadi Pachadi which is made and consumed on the day of the festival.

IMG_20230322_225052a.jpg

I moved on to colour all of the leaves. I used different shades of green on them so that they all look distinct from each other and from the mangoes.

IMG_20230322_225652.jpg

I drew some flowers here and there and picked orange so they stand out among the other colours.

IMG_20230322_230516a.jpg

The pink item is just a saree cloth or it can also be a silk cloth used to cover the pot so it looks neater and has a pop of colour. I chose pink and reds so it gives me an opportunity to include these colours in the drawing.

IMG_20230323_153222.jpg

I coloured the entire pot in golden brown and added some maroon and dark brown everywhere. It was not easy because this set of colour didn't have reddish brown and I had to create it by mixing colours. This is the final outcome of the artwork.

IMG_20230323_153301.jpg

Here's another angle of the painting. I love how colourful it is as it contributes to the festive vibes.


aff08ab78c3ca645b64450491fa7e4598970aa61af39db41fe89f7b4036fd67b.0.png

By the way, I would like to wish all of my Muslim friends a blessed fasting month as the month of Ramadan has begun. Thank you for dropping by and I wish you a great day ahead.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @sagarkothari88 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yashny.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @bhattg and @indiaunited

!giphy beautiful

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
bhattg tipped yashny (x1)
@sagarkothari88(1/5) tipped @yashny (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Loading...

Beautiful. Happy Ugadi. And Happy New Year of Bharat Varsha.

Thank you! A little late but I wish you a happy new year too =)