Crocuses. The tragic fate of one of my gouache works

in OnChainArt3 years ago


First, I will tell you a little about the unusual technique in which this picture is made, and then I will tell you about what happened in the end. I have been drawing with gouache for a long time and I like to work with these paints, but this love did not come immediately. For a long time, in my youth, I did not understand how it is possible to draw colorful living works with gouache, if this paint is so unpredictable. Gouache in its pure form is quite dark and inconvenient for drawing, after drying it becomes much lighter and the entire drawing is covered with ugly stains - what to do? And then an interesting idea came: we need to try to make the gouache brighter by mixing a few ready-made colors with white. When I did this, I had several jars of very bright colors at my disposal. At first, I drew with solid fills. This was useful in the case of architectural landscapes or some geometric structures, but it seemed to me that this was not enough. And then the idea came, what if we draw with bright colors in the same way as with watercolors in wet technique. So there were works that I have already exhibited in a recent gallery in one of the posts. And not so long ago, I decided to go even longer and tried to draw on thick tinted paper, and so there were drawings, one of which I publish today. But this artwork has a tragic fate. When the drawing was ready, I accidentally knocked over the coffee mug of the drawing. The work could not be saved, and in the end I only have this last photo of it.

Вначале я расскажу немного о необычной технике, в которой выполнена эта картина, а потом поведаю о том, что случилось в итоге. Я давно рисую гуашью и мне нравится работать этими красками, но эта любовь пришла не сразу. Давно, ещё в юности я долго не понимал, как вообще можно рисовать гуашью красочные живые работы, если эта краска такая непредсказуемая. Гуашь в чистом виде довольно тёмная и неудобная для рисования, после высыхания она сильно светлеет и весь рисунок покрывается некрасивыми разводами - как же быть? И тогда пришла интересная мысль: нужно попробовать сделать гуашь ярче, намешав несколько готовых колеров с белилами. Когда я сделал это, в моём распоряжении появилось несколько баночек с очень яркими красками. Вначале я рисовал сплошными заливками. Это пригождалось в случае с архитектурными пейзажами или каким-то геометрическими конструкциями, но мне показалось этого мало. И тогда пришла мысль, а что если рисовать яркими колерами точно так же, как и акварелью в мокрой технике. Так появились работы, которые я уже выставлял в недавней галерее в одном из постов. А не так давно я решил пойти ещё дольше и попробовал рисовать на плотной тонированной бумагеВот так и появились рисунки, один из которых я сегодня публикую. Но у этой работы трагическая судьба. Когда рисунок был уже готов, я случайно опрокинул кружку с кофе нарисунок. Работу спасти не удалось, и в итоге у меня остался только вот этот последний фотоснимок.


Green paper, gouache, dimensions 30x20 cm

Sort:  

This looks absolutely amazing! I'm mostly a digital artist and don't know much about painting but it's amazing how you could come up with techniques on how to paint when your paint doesn't wanna cooperate. It's a shame that it couldn't be saved but at least you took a snap before it got covered with coffee!

Yes, I'm used to the vagaries of traditional paints. Sometimes I want to give up everything, buy a graphics tablet and not suffer, but I know that I can not do this treacherously with my favorite gouaches, watercolours and oils ))

But this work was look very cool when you was get this fresh green colors more light ☺👌👌👌 I'm happy that you let as see original work.

Thank you! : )