Above 1,100 and Beyond - The road to 1,500 ELO rating

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I finally broke the 1,100 ELO barrier, and that is no small feature considering I am now on the TOP 20% of the Chess players in the rapid format in Chess.com, and considering that this platform is what the bulk of the Chess players call home, I think I can safely say I am now in the top 20% of Chess players in the world.

Yeah, that might be an over simplification from my side and self aggrandizement (please don't downvote for that, wink-wink to the OGs that know what I am talking about) but still, I am very proud of where I am, but I am actually not even half way through, I actually need to reach 1,500 before Decemeber 2022.

In this video I end up 10 points above the rate I started with, I was aiming for a 20 point growth but I lost a streak and didn't feel confident I could reach my goal so... sometimes it is better to know our limits and stop playing or else, we might crawl back to the hole we came from.

Anyway, I hope some of you, Chess community members, finds it enjoyable or at least you can have a laught at my blunders :P

This post was supposed to be uploaded over the weekend but I messed up so now, I am here uploading on a Tuesday.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

That second win was very fast, I don't play Chess seriously but I know the moves and the logic of the game and you're not supposed to win that fast XD congratulations on reaching 1,100!

Yeah damn, somehow I just don't like winning so fast as much as I hate losing so fast like in the first game haha

You lost that first game so fast, and you even mentioned how the bishop was guarding the checkmate square but still, a couple of turns later you forgot about it, and your opponent realized that and took advantage... that's just a lack of focus mistake, hopefully you get over them soon.

Yep, I completely lost my focus which is something I struggle with on every game I record myself playing, I Still can't manage the "thinking+explaining logic+speaking in 2nd language" deal.

Hay una frase que me decía mi tata "nunca dejes de tener tu mente en movimiento" y el ajedrez es un juego en el que por más que seas bueno, todo el tiempo estás pensando. Que bueno que ganaste 2 juegos y solo perdiste uno, por lo que sabía, nunca habías subido a 1100 puntos... Así que muchas felicidades :)

Si, el ajedrez creo que me va a mantener el cerebro activo hasta el dia que me muera. Si, es la primera vez que paso los 1,100 puntos, espero mantenerme ahi arriba!

Nice plays! Maybe we can play sometime

Do you have a chess.com account?