You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hivechess Tournament Season 17 Round 8: @samostically was the winner

Congratulations @samostically !!!
Wish I had managed to be awake, was looking forward to this 2x1.

@stayoutoftherz probably next week we can do 960 as the freestyle will continue till then I believe.

How do all of you play 960? What is it that you consider before the first move. I am lost in that format hence asking? I feel it will be fun to have a tactical match in 960 but am scared of the first couple of moves to make as i am not entirely sure what yardstick to use.

Sort:  

Indeed, let´s have a 960 next week 😄!

Thank you!

Personally, I just look at the opponent king's position and mine first. Then I try to develop my pieces. Sometimes, some pieces are not very logical to develop because of the positions they are placed (starting positions I mean).

Overall, 960 is interesting because it questions what you know in chess.

That's exactly what I am scared of --- it will show what I don't know in chess :D
But on a serious note, thanks, that helps to starting the thinking process for sure.