My Full Review of this week's Hivechess! 4th place quite hard fought

Mi video.gif

Hivechess never seems to take a break and in this new week I experienced many more high calibre games, I have been able to participate in all the tournaments so far and this one I think has been the closest I have been to crowning a podium, of course nothing is easy in these tournaments and there are many strong opponents so let's review a bit of what this tournament was like.

I had been blitz training for a long time but I was surprised when they put the format in this tournament, the increased clock is usually a good addition to give the games a bit more complexity and more time to think about each player,

white vs. stayoutoftherz

The first game of the tournament and one of the hardest, at no time in the first moves I knew what was happening in this game, it seems that I had a severe disadvantage but I was progressively accommodating and reviewing the game I had some missed opportunities, even so I was able to get this first game that for me is crucial.

This tournament unlike the previous one is an Arena mode so the speed and precision in the moves are key to finish a game and arrive earlier to the next one.


white vs. stranger27

Just after winning the first game I played another game which I found deceptive, low rated players are quite good in these tournaments so I am usually very careful and remain solid against any threat, this game was even until the very end when finally, I want to believe that because of the time pressure, my opponent made a mistake and I was able to capitalize on that mistake.

I also had the handicap that in these two games I have been using the berserk function which doubles my points in exchange for cutting my time in half and taking away my increment, so I have to be twice as careful.


black vs. sawkito

It wasn't going to be long before I experienced my first loss, in game three I had my doubts about whether I could beat sawkitoy in this game I made a lot of impressions and blunders that sentenced me in the first few moves, although there was going to be revenge later in the tournament.


white vs. jean1301

Another one of those games against players who are deceptive, I had a good early lead but between the time crunch and the fact that I'm using berserk in each of these games I think it left me at a disadvantage right at the end of this game, jean said he wasn't very good at these time formats but to me it seemed pretty pro, just maybe take advantage and finish your opponent off before he finishes you off.


black vs. sawkito (again)

This was the revenge of that game in which I could not do much, we played a fairly peaceful opening, without many complications but in the middlegame I could attack very effectively to several of his pieces and consolidate a very strange advantage. I won two pieces and it seemed that positionally I was winning, just enough to confirm this advantage and just like that I had won a very important game.


white vs. sawkito (AGAIN!!!)

At this moment I was thinking that the lichess pair had made a mistake, I played a game before this one (losing it) and I thought that I was going to go down to play against some players with a slightly more affordable rating, but here I was again and this time with the black pieces, I tried to play as solid as possible, no crazy moves or plans and so I could hold on until the end where my opponent made a couple of mistakes thanks to the time pressure, I could win this game and consolidate myself at the top of the table!!!


white vs. pamboy27

At this point of the tournament I must admit that I was already exhausted, I don't understand how the top players can keep playing at such a high level, in this game I had several problems with the time and how to execute the plans I had, reviewing the game I had several better plans than I did in the game and I left quite upset when I gave away a piece in the middle of it.


Although I lost one game in the middle of this tournament and two others at the end I think my stand is pretty good considering all the talent and players that are playing every week, I was looking at some of @stayoutoftherz's posts and I think I'm doing well, in this tournament I got 4th and I could improve a lot my result in the last games, so until next week! this has been a lot of fun.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dhilan04! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations!


You have obtained a vote from CHESS BROTHERS PROJECT

✅ Good job. Your post has been appreciated and has received support from CHESS BROTHERS ♔ 💪


♟ We invite you to use our hashtag #chessbrothers and learn more about us.

♟♟ You can also reach us on our Discord server and promote your posts there.

♟♟♟ Consider joining our curation trail so we work as a team and you get rewards automatically.

♞♟ Check out our @chessbrotherspro account to learn about the curation process carried out daily by our team.


🥇 If you want to earn profits with your HP delegation and support our project, we invite you to join the Master Investor plan. Here you can learn how to do it.


Kindly

The CHESS BROTHERS team