You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chess Puzzle of the Day (May 22, 2020) | Problema de ajedrez del día (22-May-2020)

in The Chess Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello @rodrook in algebraic notation there is no "n", the board only has a,b,..., to h, and of course 1, 2, ..., to 8.

In the older notation though, there is "N" in the form N1, ..., N8, and it's capitalized and so in this example it would have been

  1. ...N-N8 (or 2. ...N-QN8)

and not N1 or "n1" (which is the wrong way to write it) as the black pawns are moving upwards

Sort:  

Thanks for replying @gingerbyna. As I attempted to animate your solution I made the mistake of thinking b1 was bishop1 from the old descriptive notation that I used for many years, it similar to the mistakes I make in my tournament play now. :) gAnimatio.gif

This animation is only your main line solution.