My first official chess tournament: A proud bronze medalist

in The Chess Community6 months ago (edited)

chess131.JPG

A pleasant day to all hivers, @penflecto is back and I am hoping that everyone is doing well, this is my third time publishing a blog this week and this time I will share with you my third tournament and my first ever official chess tournament and guess what? I became a bronze medalist as a rookie, not a bad start for my chess career.

chess70.JPG

But before we dive deeper, I would like to thank to @indayclara for giving us the opportunity to participate in the said chess tournament, if it's not because of her I would not be able to showcase and compete my talent as a chess enthusiast. As I was about to quit in this sport she offered a great chess opportunity that gives me courage and determination to pursue and continue my chess career.

IMG_20231120_134848.jpg

Last November I participated in our school intramurals with @tomilee , I ended up becoming a bronze medalist with a fine 6-2 standing, I was a little frustrated and disappointed at that time due to the blunders I have committed but it did not become a hindrance for me to pursue my career as a chess player after that the school chess organizer selected me as her chess participant on the upcoming district meet and again I ended up in the third place with the same standing 6 wins and two loses, I thought it was time for me to quit in this sport but fortunately my coach motivated me and said "this is only the beginning of your career there are more tournaments to come just keep improving and stay positive" that moment I became more competitive and motivated.

received_877214730615417.jpeg

(This photo was uploaded on the official page of the Municipality of San Remigio)

The municipality of San Remigio announced that there will be a chess christmas league that will happen on December 16 and 17 and is open for all chess enthusiast who is willing to participate, @indayclara who lived nearby quickly informed three of her students which is I , @kaijen and @tomilee but unfortunately @kaijen wasn't able to participate because his mother did not allow him.

It was a really good opportunity because @indayclara shouldered all the expenses including our entrance fee, transportation, foods, and she also offered her place for us to stay, basically she became our mother for two days.

received_233691816418331.jpeg

received_326877240247781.jpeg

December 15 is the date where I and @tomilee arrived at @indayclara's place and upon arriving at her place she offered us a free dinner and milk tea at San Remigio's Lapyahan, after the dinner we then headed home since we don't have anything to do. That night we also practice our opening strategies and end game tactics, we did not stress ourselves as a preparation for our tournament tomorrow.

DAY 1

First day of the tournament I felt mixed emotions, I was excited and nervous at the same time. @indayclara prepared us breakfast, @tomilee took a bath and I played a few chess match online while the comfort room is still being use. After @tomilee finished bathing I then followed then after taking a bath we ate together.
(Fast forward)

IMG_20231216_084932.jpg

IMG_20231216_084908.jpg

The moment we entered the San Remigio Sports complex I became nervous and it began to dominate my mind and I started panicking, afraid of getting crushed by my opponents, luckily @indayclara says not to pressure ourselves and she wants us to enjoy our first official tournament, those words were simple but it helps me to calm.

chess78.JPG

chess108.JPG

chess93.JPG

received_913301549691313.jpeg
(This photo is taken by @tomilee )

While waiting for the other participants to arrive @indayclara gave us the chance to roam around, observe the other players and meet new friends.

chess36.JPG

chess37.JPG

After a few minutes the organizers announced to display our chess set in the table that they provide since it is required to bring our own chess set.

chess230-1.JPG

chess132.JPG

After a few more minutes of waiting the tournament finally started which made me excited once again, the organizer announced what table are we playing and who will be our first opponent.

chess117.JPG

This is my first opponent, in this match he uses a very risky and well known opening which is called the scholar's mate please inform me if I'm wrong. He pushes his pawn to e4 and I respond with pawn c5 which is the Sicilian defense, he then activates his queen and ends up loosing it in an instant, after a few couple of moves he realized that checkmate is inevitable and eventually resign the game which made me won my first ever official match.

chess152.JPG

chess150.JPG

After a few matches the organizers announced that all participants should take their launch and return at exactly 1 p.m., I and @tomilee then decided to eat in an a small restaurant nearby which energized us. Credits to @indayclara for providing our lunch.

chess32.JPG

It's 1 p.m. and we're back at the sports complex and it's time for another match but unfortunately due to lack of chess set we were not able to play for a couple of minutes instead we roam around and observe the others in order to gain new strategies. After a few minutes of observing the announcer called my name and it's my time to play.

chess225-1.JPG

Comeback Match

This is my last match for today's game. I almost lost due to the mistake that I have committed a got few isolated pawn and a night which is a very bad position while my opponent has a powerful rook and an Isolated pawn which is also a bad position, I was lucky my pawn is in the right tile which I sacrifice that forced his king to take, I then forked his king and rook and the game flipped which he realized that his loosing and resigns the game and made me win my last match for Day 1.

DAY 2

We did the same routine on day 1 and we arrive in the sports complex at the right time.

We only have three matches lett on the second day and it is a little bit sad and disappointing for me because I lost two matches in a row. After those matches, @callmesmile and @kaijen suddenly arrived which makes me happy and motivated after those two consecutive loses it's launch time and we headed back at @indayclara's place and eat together , the sadness that my loses gave me suddenly disappear due to the happiness that they bought. While laughing and talking to some random topic I and @tomilee realize that we are late for our last match we quickly grabbed our phone and wallet then headed back to the sports complex.

chess05.JPG

chess14.JPG

Clutch game

This match right here is a cool one. I am 15 minutes late and I almost forfeit myself.

In this match I am 15 minutes down and my opponent still has 30 minutes on his chess clock which is a disadvantage to me. The game started with a french advance and french defense which is a common opening. The game was equal not until my opponent committed two blunders which I forked his pieces two times specifically his precious queen and rook. After a few more moves and trades I end the game with the queen checkmate also known as the kiss of death. Despite my late appearance and time disadvantage I still manage to clutch and win the game and that's my last match for the tournament.

chess63.JPG

The participants most awaited moment

It's awarding time and it's everybody's favorite moment. The tournament has three categories the elementary, secondary, and the open category which @tomilee participated. The organizers gave the award to the elementary's category which consumes to much time.

chess103.JPG

This guy right here has an impressive two thousand rating .

chess108-1.JPG

The open category chess christmas league champion 2023 with an impressive 1900+ rating.

We use the time to take a photo with them while my name is not being called.

A minutes later the announcer mentioned my name which means it's time for me to claim my medal.

chess166-1.JPG

chess160.JPG

chess133.JPG

chess169.JPG

chess163.JPG

Regarding to some of the photos I have provided some of them are captured by @indayclara and @tomilee.

Thank you so much for reading I am hoping you are satisfied. Have a good day and God bless everyone!

Sort:  
 6 months ago  

Very nice tournament report! Good to see that chess is so popular in the Philippines as I will be moving there soon.

It was such a fun experience with you and @tomilee! Appreciate the liveliness you brought in my home. Proud of you both. Hope this was a stepping stone for both of you to pursue more tournaments in the future.

Thank you so much @indayclara, it was an unforgettable moment with you. 🥺❤️ We will surely participate in every tournament we know thank you once again God bless❤️

Congratulations

Thank you so much @chimegipamus I appreciate it❤️🥺

Overall, it was surely a great experience for the two of you. Regardless the loses, you both still do your best and I think that's enough, there's still so many room for improvements! By the way, congratulations for the both of you ❤️

Thank you so much for your heart melting words @douceink ❤️

Congratulations, @penflecto!🤍

Hello there @jeannmazing thank you so muchh , ❤️

Congratulations @penflecto ! You played well, 🥰😍 you just don't know how proud I was watching you there!🥰 You did well on your first official Chess tournament. Can't wait for more of your success in playing chess!

♟️

Thank you so much @callmesmile for the solid support 🥺❤️

wink. ❤️

Awesome! I'm a dumb rock to memorize all the strategies 🤣

Congrats and never stop studying.

Well, chess is simple and easy if you're really into it. Thank you so much @mrprofessor ❤️ God bless

Congratulations @penflecto! Niari dist mo San Remigio duol Ra amo jud ....

Thank you so much @dehai next time maam mangara nya mi hehehe ❤️

Congratulations @penflecto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you so much for reminding me @hivebuzz ❤️ God bless!

All good @penflecto! You're a real Hive pro! Onward to that new goal!

congrats!!!!!

Thank you so much @dhilan04 have a nice day ❤️

Congrats po

I appreciate it @sucal ❤️

Congrats! If you want you can play tomorrow at our Hivechess tournament! The announcement you find in my blog.

Thankyou so much @stayoutoftherz ❤️ I'll check it later ❤️ God bless!