P-K4 (Paul Morphy) - Chess Biggest Classics

Most every chess player has a favorite opening move. Anyone care to guess what my favorite opening move is? Over the many years I’ve played chess I only used or read one book. It was a book of Paul Morphy games. P-K4 was definitely one of his favorite opening move.

I love and believe I connected with his style of play. I think a good way to describe his style of play would be to compare it to Mike Tyson style of boxing. No one knows Mike Tyson or Paul Morphy for their defense because they are both very exciting knockout artists. But in fact they both are great defensive players/boxers because offense is the best defense.

Paul Charles Morphy

There are many conversations on whether Paul Morphy is the greatest of all times or whether he could measure up to the modern chess players. I believe his forceful style of play would prevail in any time period.

“P-K4” as well as “Paul Morphy” are true classics that have stood the test of time. The two are as loved today as they were in 1857 now That a real classic. I recommend any book on Paul Morphy chess play.

I attempt to play Paul Morphy style below
As well as in all of my games.

@rodrook

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Hm ... if a game ends with "Black Resign", it would be good to be able to watch the end position somewhat longer. At a first glance I don't see any reason for black to resign at all in the final position. :)

There was no apparent reason for Black to resign at the time. It will be simple to hold that resign position in the future.

I selected that game because Morphy has used that exactly opening.

game.PNG