Steem Time odds Arena


Congratlation to the Winners
Steem Odd Time Arena Tournament
First Place: Jeanjarrgh
Second Place @stayoutoftherz
Third Place: Ajedrezclubt2

Winners3.png

Today’ Steem Chess Tournament was very interesting and I believe a very nice success. @schamangerbert made today tournament very interesting with a “Time odds Handicap”.

Because of my past chess history I personally could not accept any handicap from the other chess tournament players. Especially since my rating most of the time is the lowest. I initially didn’t think I could play the tournament but as always @schamangerbert had advise. That advice was to just let my clock run down the same as my opponent. Well I was happy with that because I was looking forward to the tournament.

However when I join the tournament I had an even better Idea; I would go berserk on all the player with a hundred point higher rating. I discovered that my play may be a little better with less time to think and just playing on mostly instinct.

One thing that didn’t change was my ability to throw away a game at the very end and to lose focus or go blank at the end. I look forward to other opinions on the new Time odds Arena format.

The initial field started out slow but ended with ten players. The strength of field today was a little lower than normal but it still was a strong field. The time between games appears longer, I am sure because the higher rated player had to expend more of their time according to the rules.

Screenshot1.png

@rodrook

Sort:  

A very nice chess display

yes...

Thank you @memesforhive

Thanks for your description! I think you should play with the new rules and try it out, as the results are quite interesting. The idea of handicap is very old, 200 years and well documented, it makes the games much more interesting and challenging for everyone.

An interesting tournament...

cool...

Very cool!