Hive Chess Week Two: Better Late Than Never

in The Chess Communitylast year (edited)

Samostically (2).png

Hi Hivers,

It was week 2 of my return back to Hive chess organized by @stayoutoftherz and I almost missed it.

Illness is a cruel mistress that can rob us of our energy, our passion, and our drive. It can leave us feeling helpless, weak, and unable to participate in the things that we love.

It started around Monday last week, first, it was the headaches, then the cold, followed by numerous other symptoms.

By Wednesday, it had gotten worse. I lost all my appetite for food. I was forced to procure medication as the symptoms seemed to be getting worse.

On Friday, the day of Hive chess, the effects of the medication were becoming visible. I couldn't make it to work that day as I was feeling very fatigued and had yet to regain my appetite for food.

This made me almost forget completely about Hive chess. This week's event was a 9-round Swiss Event. Luckily, I did not miss it completely and made it to round 4.

Better late than never.

As I write this blog, I am still recovering and hope to get back to 100% as soon as possible.

Below are analysis of some of my games from the tournament.

ezgif.com-optimize (3).gif


Game 1

I got here in round 4 and was pared against mypathtofire (1281). Despite the difference in rating points, it wasn't a complete run-through. I knew my opponent would put up a good fight.

The game started as a three Knight defense. But black decided to go 4. a3 which is a bit of an inaccuracy.

I have always played the No.1 move in this position: 4. Nxe5 - I have played a lot of games from the white side of this position and I always came out with a slightly or sometimes largely better position as white.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_773e8b22-fd14-4158-b63f-5542f0d281b2.gif

I went 6. Nd4 is a temporary pawn sacrifice but one that would potentially give me an active center and good piece play after 7. ... Qe7, 8. Nf3 Nxe4.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_53248a70-3c3b-4eb0-b6cc-934980923bc8.gif

10.d3??. An absolute blunder. White missed the 10... Nc3+! losing the queen and eventually the game.

My opponent played on regardless and kept fighting, but it was only a matter of time. The game ended in 33 moves.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_b3c37f7d-aa86-40c1-a955-bf8d64d9df85 (2).gif


Game 2

I lost game 2. My play was poor and my opponent made sure to punish me.

The game opened as a Sicilian Grand Prix attack; one of my favorite weapons against the Sicilian.

My position was fairly good after the 9.e6 Bxe6 10. Bxe6 fxe6. Black has a weak double pawn on e7 and e6.
But I made my first mistake after I played 11. Ne2?!

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_d5599dd8-8dda-4a26-aa28-052f83eb7429.gif

After, 13... Nxe5?! mistake for black, I missed the opportunity to get an advantage with line 13...Rxf1+ 14.Qxf1 Bxe5 15.d3 Nd4 16.Qd1 Nf5 17.c3 Qd6 18.Qb3 Rf8 19.Kh1 Kf7 20.d4.

Nevertheless, the game still went on okay but I ended up losing on time due to a poor internet connection.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_0d81b8c7-d8d7-4dd1-abf1-4c21615cc653.gif

The game was filled with a lot of inaccuracies but 22. Qd2?? sealed away all my chances of survival.

After 26. Qf3, I lost on time. My opponent did well to play very active and constantly ask questions. All this contributed to my staying behind on time coupled with a poor internet connection.


Game 3

Round 5 loss was the only loss I incurred as I went on to win the rest of my games. One of my favorite wins from the rest was my 3rd game, i.e round 6.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_a4223cf5-e3ce-44d7-9fdb-41ff1d4f4ee3.gif

I did not start with a good opening I must confess. I just wanted to get a playable position and I completely missed 13. Qb5+ which gives white the chance to be 2 pawns up. White however took only the pawn on b7 and retreated with his queen to b3 giving me the chance to still be in the game.

White played well but made the mistake of allowing 22... Qxd4 and 23. Bb4+.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_4c54a393-6d0d-4958-be19-c20c7c73b1c8.gif

White responded with 24.Nd2?? and that sealed it. The knight was pinned and doomed. It was only a matter of time and the right pressure for the piece to fall.

gfychess-blob_https___www.gfychess.com_d31968ec-7fe2-4b94-837f-f4925dd3f8ea.gif

The Knight fell eventually and after a couple more moves, the dust was clear and I was up a full piece.


There you have it!

I hope you enjoyed the analysis, do well to leave a comment.


samosti 2.png

The best.jpeg

I am @samostically,I love to talk and write about chess because i benefited alot from playing chess. I love to review books and movies too!.I believe life is all about staying happy and maintaining peace.

♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟

samosti 2.png

Thanks For Reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations!


You have obtained a vote from CHESS BROTHERS PROJECT

✅ Good job. Your post has been appreciated and has received support from CHESS BROTHERS ♔ 💪


♟ We invite you to use our hashtag #chessbrothers and learn more about us.

♟♟ You can also reach us on our Discord server and promote your posts there.

♟♟♟ Consider joining our curation trail so we work as a team and you get rewards automatically.

♞♟ Check out our @chessbrotherspro account to learn about the curation process carried out daily by our team.


🥇 If you want to earn profits with your HP delegation and support our project, we invite you to join the Master Investor plan. Here you can learn how to do it.


Kindly

The CHESS BROTHERS team

Congratulations @samostically! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!