The journey through the perfumes(ENG&JPN)

in Hive JA5 months ago

【ENG】
Hello, it's @nhhrm.
Well, today I'm going to write about my recent news: I finally bought the perfume of my dreams!

But first, let me tell you about my relationship with perfumes so far. Originally, I had a dog (perfume doesn't seem to be very good for a dog with a good nose, does it?), and my family didn't wear perfume, so it wasn't very close to me.

But... one day, after reading a comic essay by a favourite manga artist about her favourite perfumes, my mind started to change a little bit.

The essay said: 'the scent of figs themselves', 'the scent of white flowers like apricot curd', 'a mixture of tobacco and cherry', 'a sacred scent that makes you want to worship the person wearing the perfume with a halo behind them'... The things mentioned there were quite interesting and different from the image I had of perfumes up to that point.

What I found particularly interesting were the expressions and stories behind the perfumes presented by the brands and manufacturers. A fragrance expressing a forest of memories of the perfumer's childhood, a scent inspired by a scene between a man and a woman in a bar, the perfect scent for a dinner party in The Great Gatsby... I was quite shocked to find so many world views packed into a single perfume. Are fragrances really that complex? Is it really that impressive? What exactly does it scent like? I was excited to find out first-hand.

Going on the journey through the perfumes

So, I decided to go on a 'perfume tour' with a friend. We went on a one-day tour of the perfume shops we were interested in, including the perfumes mentioned in the essay.

The first place I visited was the NOSE SHOP, a perfume boutique.
It has a large collection of niche fragrances and also has a 'perfume GACHA' where you can win a random perfume for 900 yen. As it is a select shop, there are many varieties and it was great fun. However, as beginners, we were still too young for niche fragrances... 😂.

Next, we went to OFFICINE UNIVERSELLE BULY, a brand from Paris.
It was originally a long-established general beauty shop. Their perfume bottles are decorated with delicate drawings, and they offer a popular service where you can buy a bottle and have your name on the packaging in calligraphy.
Here, we enjoyed scents inspired by Scottish valleys, as well as mint and cucumber from the vegetable garden.

We also visited Dyptique Paris. The textiles are distinctive and very stylish. It is very popular in Japan and there seems to be an increasing number of directly-owned shops these days. On Instagram, I often see homage designs being used for wedding paper items (I feel it's not so good 😂 ).
We were able to try 5 or 6 different scents here, including a fig scent and a bitter orangey perfume. The staff were very kind and told us, as beginners, the best time of year to wear perfume and the story behind each one. My friend bought an orange perfume here. She was very happy with it!

End of the journey

We continued to visit the perfume series in various fragrance shops and clothing brands.

Finally, at D'ORSAY, which I visited towards the end of my trip, I came across something that said "This is it!" I found it!
It's called 'The Best Self / M.A.'.

I loved it, including the name, which seemed to put me in a positive mood.
I was told it was a cedarwood, amber and white musk scent, but I still don't really know what it is😂. She said that because it is not a very strong or standard scent, it does not give the impression that she is wearing perfume.

The essay that triggered my search for perfume described it as a 'nice smelling vapour' and I had been curious about it for some time.
When I was trying out the fragrance, I was told by a shop assistant that 'this scent, to me, is like a light shining on a snowy road', which I found quite appealing.

The shop only had a fairly large capacity and I wasn't sure I could use it up, but I just couldn't forget it and bought a smaller size at a later date! Now I sneak it on when I go out alone on holiday and feel a little happy.

It was a very interesting and exciting experience, even though the world of perfume is quite deep, even if you only step into it a little. If I find another favourite fragrance, I'll try to write something more about it.
Thank you very much for reading!

【JPN】

香水巡りの旅

こんにちは、@nhhrmです。
さて、今日は「ついに憧れの香水を買った」という最近のニュースを書こうと思います!

その前に、これまでの私と香水の関係性についてお話しします。元々私は犬を飼っていたり(鼻が効く犬にとっては香水はあまり良くなさそう?)、家族が香水を付けないこともあって、あまり自分にとって香水は身近な存在ではありませんでした。

ですが…ある日、好きな漫画家がお気に入りの香水について語っているエッセイ漫画を読んでから、その気持ちが少しずつ変わり始めました。

「イチジクそのものの香り」「杏仁豆腐みたいな白い花の香り」「タバコとチェリーが混ざった香り」「その香水を付けている人の背後に後光が差し、拝みたくなるような神聖な香り」などなど…そこで言及されているものは、これまでの自分が持っていた香水のイメージと違いかなり興味深かったからです。

特に面白いなと思ったのは、各ブランド・メーカーが発表しているその香水の表現や背景にあるストーリーです。調香師が子ども時代を過ごした思い出の森を表現した香り、バーで目と目が合う男女の一シーンをイメージした香り、「華麗なるギャツビー」に登場する晩餐会にぴったりな香り…香水ひとつにここまで世界観が詰まっていることがかなり衝撃でした。香りってそんなに複雑なものなのか?そこまで感動するものなのか?これは一体どんな香りなんだろう?と直接確かめたくてワクワクしてきたのです。

香水巡りの旅へ

そこで、友人を誘って「香水巡りの旅」に出ることにしました。エッセイの中で言及されていた香水をはじめ、気になる香水ショップを1日でしらみつぶしに回る旅です。

まず訪ねてみたのは香水のセレクトショップ「NOSE SHOP」です。
ニッチフレグランスを多く集めていて、900円でランダムに香水が当たる「香水ガチャ」もあります。セレクトショップだけあって種類が多くとても楽しかったです。ただ、初心者である私たちにはニッチフレグランスはまだ早すぎました…😂

次にパリ発のブランド、OFFICINE UNIVERSELLE BULYに行ってみました。
元々は老舗の総合美容専門店だったそうです。繊細な絵画があしらわれた香水瓶や、購入するとカリグラフィでパッケージに名前を入れてくれるサービスが人気です。
ここではスコットランドの渓谷をイメージした香りや、菜園のミントやきゅうりの香りが楽しめました。

また、Dyptique Parisも訪れました。テキスタイルが特徴的でとてもおしゃれです。日本でも大人気で、最近も直営店が増えているようですね。インスタグラムでは結婚式のペーパーアイテムにオマージュデザインがよく使われているのをよく見ます(あまり良くない気もします😂笑)。
ここではイチジクの香りや苦めのオレンジっぽい香りの香水をはじめ、5,6種類の香りを試させてもらいました。店員さんがとても親切で、初心者の私たちに香水を付けるのにベストな季節やそれぞれのストーリーを教えてくれました。友人はここでオレンジの香水を購入。とても嬉しそうにしていました!

旅の終わり

その後もさまざまなフレグランスショップやアパレルブランドの中にある香水シリーズを周り続けました。

そしてついに、旅の終盤に訪れたD'ORSAYで「これだ!」というものに出会えました!
それが「最高の自分 / M.A.」です。ポジティブな気分になれそうな名前も含めてとても気に入りました。

シダーウッド、アンバー、ホワイトムスク系の香りと言われましたが、何の香りなのかいまだによくわかっていません😂。あまり強い香りでも定番の香りでもないため、香水を付けているという印象になりにくいそうです。香水を探すきっかけになったエッセイには「いい匂いの蒸気」と表現されていて、以前から気になっていました。
香りを試していた時、店員さんから「この香りは雪の積もった道に光が射しているイメージ」と聞いて、かなり魅力的に感じました。

店舗にはかなり大きい容量のものしかなく使い切れる自信がなかったのですが、どうしても忘れられず、後日小さなサイズを購入しました!今は、休みの日に一人で出かけるときにこっそり付けて少し嬉しい気持ちになっています。

少し踏み入れただけでもかなり奥の深い香水の世界ですが、とても面白くワクワクする体験でした。またお気に入りの香りを見つけたら、また何か書いてみようと思います。

読んでくださりありがとうございました!

Sort:  

香りの旅、いいですね!私は今年ものすごーーーく久しぶりにDyptiqueで一つ買いました。ドイツにはあまりお店がなくて、ベルリンまで行った時に 😅 いつかパリのお店を見に行きたいです。

@nhhrmさんが読まれたエッセイ気になります。もしよかったら教えていただきたいです。

Perfumes are really deep! I noticed not a lot of Japanese people wear it. When I wear one, I try my best not to put a lot, which I wasn't used to before, because people might look at me with judging eyes because of the scent which some may not like. I'm so careful to wear perfumes whenever I'm out. 😅
I'm not sure about the brands and shops you mentioned but this perfume tour 面白そうです!

私も犬ほどではないのですが鼻が良いほうで😂、あまり香水は使っていません。少量を顔から離れた場所につけても、気持ち悪くなることがあり。好きだし、興味あるんですけどね。

その香水を付けている人の背後に後光が差し、拝みたくなるような神聖な香り



これいいですね!使って人々に拝まれてみたいですw
「最高の自分 / M.A.」もどんな香りなのか気になります。エッセイのエピソードから実際に香水巡りの旅に出るという行動が素敵だなあと思いました😊

Congratulations @nhhrm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP