Manga Review: Haite Kudasai, Takamine San

in The Anime Realm3 months ago (edited)

Takamine San is an ongoing romantic comedy manga that features a coming of age high school romance. Created by Hiiragi Yuuichi, also known for other work "Kakegurui Midari" after working with Kawamoto Homura, author of the popular series "Kakegurui" which is an ecchi anime about gambling.


Plot

Shirota accidentally sees the president Takamine's bare breasts while changing clothes without her noticing. He was at the wrong place and time. It should've been an incident he can keep to himself. But this incident only led him to discover Takamine's other secret. This prompted Takamine to orchestrate a scenario where she could frame Shirota for rape which he fell into the trap. Now Shirota has to choose between prison or become the president's private servant with the main task of putting her panties on her whenever and wherever she wants.

prez.png

I skipped an important detail there but that's going to be a huge spoiler if this post is your introduction to the story. I know the plot begs for more questions but this a romantic ecchi comedy laced with the supernatural type of story.

Spoiler Warning: If you're already interested in the plot, better to leave this post now and find out.

The first few chapters is a bit controversial due how quickly things can go to a dark. I know skirting through issues like false accusations of rape, narcissism, and blackmail as the beginning of the journey may not sit well with a lot of people. On a first impression basis, I'd probably dropped the story if it continued the female domination themes. Takamine's character intro already sets a dark tone that she's someone that knows what's she's doing, holds herself in high regard, and would not hesitate to play dirty.

But there is a gradual shift in direction as the chapters progressed because the slow pacing and character development come at a later chapters.

One of the best parts about this manga is the art style suitable for an ecchi manga. The illustrator knows exactly what they're doing when rendering Takamine's assets right. Since ecchi is about playing around with visual suspense, you'll find some of the panels an eye treat.

And this detail further cements Takamine's character in the story because her reputation as the campus queen is built around exemplifying perfection in everything she does. She has no problems ordering the pushover Shirota on the most trivial matters.

The story plays around the common trope of popular girl meets unremarkable boy. While there is a supernatural element to the story regarding Takamine's ability, I think this detail being used as a catalyst for them to interact in the first place then downplayed later was the right choice. This is a romantic comedy and less about emphasizing supernatural powers and more about playing with their chemistry.

It can be frustrating to read about Shirota's character development from a pushover to someone growing a spine but the slow pace makes their relationship feel more natural than abruptly forced. It can have its moments where it's frustrating to read and wishing the boy should've just grown a clue by now instead of missing his shots.

Once you get passed the parts that make this story ecchi and focus on the coming of age romance, it's not that bad.

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

no siempre me da tiempo para leer mangas, pero con tu post me ha llamado la atención jeje lo tendré en cuenta.!


I don't always have time to read manga, but your post has caught my attention hehe I'll keep it in mind!

Wow, this is indeed a very good one, I've not seen this manga before, but I'm very interested in what will happen. Funny enough, I stopped reading after your spoiler warning 😅😅. Thanks for the warning. My curiosity is peaked. I'll find out myself. It's a very good one.

Now I'm more interested in reading mangas.

Manhwas can be entertaining too.

Would definitely check this out...
Wanna start out on another manga app after finally letting go of tachiyomi so I'm in need of new content.

Good luck, the first few chapters are either a hit or miss depending on your taste for tsundere.

I hadn’t heard of this before but the plot synopsis (skipped the rest due to the wonderful spoiler warning) sounds so triggering I might just have to read this. Sounds kind of like this would fit my level of deviousness as a fan of Masamune-kun’s Revenge and a small handful of other very eye brow raising ecchi stories.

I read the reviews before starting and I could understand the beginning chapters are an acquired taste but the momentum shifts as soon as the story actually starts building the romance part.

I rarely read any manga but this one sounds like a really fun one, maybe I'll give it a try and read it. Also the illustration style looks super nice, so it definitely caught my attention in many ways.

Thanks for sharing!

Depends, it's ecchi and some parts of it are an acquired taste. I like the art style more than the actual story.

I think I'll look for this manga I was curious, a trap that can even charge him with rape is a little strong but being the creator of Kakegurui I'm not surprised considering the punishments of that anime haha

I gotta see this
I really wish to know the important part that you skipped and that’s like a motivation for us to give it a watch

Such interesting things when a person reads, the knowledge of a person increases a lot. I will also try to read it soon.

Not sure if reading material that leads to degeneracy is a good thing but ok.

become the president's private servant

This is super interesting, now I am wondering as to what extent the "servant" role will become. Also the "you'll find some of the panels an eye treat" makes me want to check this manga.

So you went past the spoiler warning huh~

Sort of 😁

I did check the manga about an hour ago. I think manga is not my cup of tea at the moment.