{ Review } Kimetsu no Yaiba: Mugen Train

in The Anime Realm3 years ago

Okay. The movie has been on the internet for a while now, so I’m totally washing my hands off here. I don’t do 100% spoiler-free stuff, I physically can’t; so if you’re an anime-only person and want to avoid spoilers, better get out. Go watch it. Then come back, perhaps.


imagen.png

So. Kimetsu no Yaiba: Mugen Train. Or Infinity Train, depending on your country.

I had been waiting for this movie since last year. Literally.

Not because this is my favorite manga arc or anything (far from it), but because Mugen Train is where Kimetsu no Yaiba takes off for real as a series. This arc happened in the blink of an eye, but aged like fine wine and the aftermath left an important message for the readers, and it is one of the reasons why I like this series so much: no one is safe.

The strongest might fall, and the weak ones might rise; you just don’t know what future has in store for each individual. When one of the strongest Pillars fell on screen just like that… it was a powerful statement.

Initially, I couldn’t take a liking to Rengoku Kyojuro like most people in the KNY fandom. I’m a fast reader, so a quick arc felt even faster to me. Thus I couldn’t really make room in my heart for him.

I did think he was a noble character, and I would’ve liked to see more of him, but that the most I could feel in regards of Rengoku; I didn’t mourn his passing, I didn’t particularly feel the loss of his character, either.

Until the One-Shot Rengoku Gaiden came along and BRUH, the feels!

Then we got Iguro’s backstory in the final arc of the manga, and his reaction to Rengoku’s death without facing the readers made SO MUCH SENSE then.

So, I was flipping. I needed to see this movie. Weeks became months, months became a whole year till I was finally able to watch Mugen Train.

And of course, I expected a good-ass movie from Ufotable. These guys do have an unlimited budget. However, everyone went beyond my expectations; it was not only the animation quality, but… everything.

The music? Majestic and on point, as always. It stuck to its modern sound, yet always providing an old feeling with traditional instruments.

The voiceover? MAGNIFICENT. Honor mention goes to Tanjirou’s VA, Hanae Natsuki; this man pulled, twisted and trampled on my heartstrings with a mere cry. Ten minutes into the movie and I already had my eyes moisty, and all credit goes to him because while this arc had particularly dark elements, that doesn’t guarantee the viewers will be immersed.

Sometimes, the voice acting doesn’t really harmonize with the other ongoing elements (i.e: the music, heck… sometimes even the script in itself) and because of this the shoots end looking overly-dramatic or downright stupid. This was not the case in Mugen Train. I experienced Tanjiro’s emotions thoroughly through Hanae-san’s voice, he really gave it his best.

The only possible complain I have in regards of the voiceover would be that no one warned me that Akaza’s voice would be so… ikemen-ish, lmao.

The script was very-well thought out, and they took care of every little detail. I would’ve liked that they gave the sick child the dramatic shoot seen in the manga, just to spread awareness regarding tuberculosis and how hopeless he was– then again, they probably were saving up the blood for all the times Tanjirou cut his own freaking neck on screen (this is not a complain).

What I particularly loved was how the script tweaked to make the viewers wholly take in Rengoku Kyojuro as a person. The manga did share more or less the same info, but the movie went beyond and above when it came to showcase his determination, his values, his charm and his skills. They even added the Fire Breathing techniques we only got to know through Rengoku Gaiden, which was an awesome touch; originally, Rengoku only used like… three or four techniques and that was it.

But to see the final form of Fire Breathing animated… that, that gave me feels.

When it was all say and done, they put Hanae-san in charge of the waterfall squad and I only knew pain from there. Just as I was building up my residence, Inosuke’s cracked voice sent me again to angst town. And finally, to make it worse, they put the goddess LiSA in charge of the ending.

So, do not believe this movie is overhyped. It deserves every good critic, every penny it garnered and the tears of the whole fandom for sure. The original storytelling of Goutoge-sensei was smart enough and Ufotable only brought it forth.

What else I can say? This movie slays.