Berserk Of Gluttony Review : The Anime that Focuses More On The Action than the Animation Itself [ENG/ESP]

in The Anime Realm14 days ago (edited)

image.png

Source


I've watched a lot of anime that deals with adventure, most of which are isekai; there are others that aren't isekai, just pure adventure and fantasy. This made me discover this anime known as 'Berserk of the Gluttony'.

This anime was one of the ones I found by coincidence. I love searching for some nice and good anime; sometimes I check reviews, while other times I don't, so I just have to see it for myself. So late last year, I came across it and decided to watch it when I was browsing through an anime website, so I decided to watch it. When I was checking through my laptop yesterday, I saw it, and I just had to revisit some scenes again (I didn't watch it from the beginning though, just checking through some fights), which reminded me of how good the adventure was.


SPANISH
He visto muchos animes que tratan sobre aventuras, la mayoría de los cuales son isekai; hay otros que no son isekai, solo pura aventura y fantasía. Esto me hizo descubrir este anime conocido como 'Berserk of the Gluttony'.
Este anime fue uno de los que encontré por casualidad. Me encanta buscar anime bueno y agradable; A veces reviso las reseñas, mientras que otras no, así que tengo que verlo por mí mismo. A finales del año pasado, me encontré con él y decidí verlo mientras navegaba por un sitio web de anime, así que decidí verlo. Ayer, cuando estaba revisando mi computadora portátil, lo vi y solo tuve que volver a visitar algunas escenas (aunque no lo vi desde el principio, solo revisé algunas peleas), lo que me recordó lo buena que era la aventura.


Berserk of Gluttony (Japanese: 暴食のベルセルク ~俺だけレベルという概念を突破する~, Hepburn: Bōshoku no Beruseruku Ore dake Reberu to Iu Gainen wo Toppa suru, "Berserk of Gluttony: The One That Exceeds the Concept of Levels") is a Japanese light novel series written by Ichika Isshiki and illustrated by fame. Isshiki started publishing the series on the user-generated novel publishing website Shōsetsuka ni Narō in January 2017 and it was later moved to Kakuyomu in March 2022. The first novel volume was released in November 2017. A manga adaptation, illustrated by Daisuke Takino, started in Micro Magazine's online magazine Comic Ride in March 2018. An anime television series adaptation produced by A.C.G.T aired from October to December 2023. Source


image.png

Source


This story strongly starts with a boy named "Fate Graphite," who works for a noble family as a gatekeeper. Though gatekeeping isn't his duty, he often works for the holy knights to keep the place from harm and wasn't treated well due to his skill. He is someone who was considered to have a useless skill known as "gluttony.". In a world where having skill is important, he is always considered useless and is humiliated and assaulted because of it. But there's only one person who always stands up for him; her name is "Roxy." "Roxy" is like a black sheep among the members of the holy knights (considering that the holy knights are bad), having a very good and warm heart towards him and wanting to help him. This made him admire her and also help her with gatekeeping.


SPANISH
Esta historia comienza fuertemente con un niño llamado "Fate Graphite", que trabaja para una familia noble como portero. Aunque el control de la puerta no es su deber, a menudo trabaja para los caballeros sagrados para evitar daños al lugar y no fue tratado bien debido a su habilidad. Es alguien a quien se consideraba que tenía una habilidad inútil conocida como "gula". En un mundo donde tener habilidad es importante, siempre se le considera inútil y se le humilla y agrede por ello. Pero sólo hay una persona que siempre lo defiende; su nombre es "Roxy". "Roxy" es como una oveja negra entre los miembros de los caballeros santos (considerando que los caballeros santos son malos), teniendo un corazón muy bueno y cálido hacia él y queriendo ayudarlo. Esto le hizo admirarla y también ayudarla con la vigilancia.


image.png

Source


One day, while saving a young girl from danger, Fate accidentally kills a bandit, awakening his gluttony ability. As the movie progresses, it becomes clear that his power only grows stronger, but the more powerful it becomes, the more skills and power he needs to absorb, as it would make him go berserk, if he doesn't, endangering the people around him, including his friends and loved ones. Thus, he embarks on an adventure, hunting down monsters and creatures with higher skills. Along the way, he encounters a very powerful sword named "Greed."

The movie later shows the secrets behind Fate's powers, the mystery behind the sword and the connection between the two powers, introducing other characters with similar abilities as the story goes on.

When watching a movie, I don't want to overcomplicate things, but I want to enjoy the adventure side of the movie. Actually, the start of this anime is really incredible. They actually start off on a great foot, which makes this anime very interesting to watch and raises my expectations for the plot of the anime. It raises a lot of questions as to where the ending might be, but along the line, it lost its touch, maybe due to the very high expectations it raised. Though it's not lost completely, it still offers a very interesting adventure.


SPANISH
Un día, mientras salva a una joven del peligro, el destino mata accidentalmente a un bandido, despertando su habilidad de glotonería. A medida que avanza la película, queda claro que su poder solo se hace más fuerte, pero cuanto más poderoso se vuelve, más habilidades y poder necesita absorber, ya que eso lo volvería loco, poniendo en peligro a las personas que lo rodean, incluidos sus amigos y seres queridos. Así, se embarca en una aventura, cazando monstruos y criaturas con habilidades superiores. En el camino, se encuentra con una espada muy poderosa llamada "Codicia".
Posteriormente, la película revela los secretos detrás de los poderes de Fate, el misterio detrás de la espada y la conexión entre los dos poderes, presentando otros personajes con habilidades similares a medida que se desarrolla la historia.
Cuando veo una película, no quiero complicar demasiado las cosas, pero quiero disfrutar el lado de aventura de la película. De hecho, el comienzo de este anime es realmente increíble. De hecho, comienzan con buen pie, lo que hace que este anime sea muy interesante de ver y aumenta mis expectativas sobre la trama del anime. Plantea muchas preguntas sobre dónde podría estar el final, pero a lo largo del camino perdió su toque, tal vez debido a las altas expectativas que generó. Aunque no está completamente perdido, sigue ofreciendo una aventura muy interesante.


image.png

Source


This anime also introduces some romance, as we see the drama and feelings between Fate and Roxy, This part indeed made the anime interesting and entertaining. The fact that fate doesn't want to show Roxy his true self while also hiding his powers from others is also interesting.

The parts I enjoy the most are the fight, you know, when the main character is very powerful and is fighting monsters to save a lot of people and also some monsters that have skills greater than his; due to this, he'll have to devise some tactics to take the monster down and other things. And also, I like the looks on the faces of the bad people after realizing that his power is far greater. It's interesting to watch.


SPANISH
Este anime también introduce algo de romance, ya que vemos el drama y los sentimientos entre Fate y Roxy. Esta parte de hecho hizo que el anime fuera interesante y entretenido. El hecho de que el destino no quiera mostrarle a Roxy su verdadero yo y al mismo tiempo ocultar sus poderes a los demás también es interesante.
Las partes que más disfruto son la pelea, ya sabes, cuando el personaje principal es muy poderoso y lucha contra monstruos para salvar a mucha gente y también contra algunos monstruos que tienen habilidades mayores que las suyas; Debido a esto, tendrá que idear algunas tácticas para derrotar al monstruo y otras cosas. Y también me gustan las caras de las personas malas después de darse cuenta de que su poder es mucho mayor. Es interesante de ver.


image.png

Source


The art style is really simple, and I really like it. It gives a very simple vibe and adds a unique touch, different from anime like "Mushoku Tensei". Moreover, the sound is really good. The opening and ending music are really amazing, but I liked the opening more. Also, the background music fits the anime well.

The part I really dislike about this anime is the animation. It's really bad for the kind of anime of this age. The animation is very static, especially during fights. It makes it look like watching old animations. It seems like the producers were on a low budget but really wanted to complete it on time. This anime was produced in 2023, so I expected good animation for this kind of adventure fantasy anime. After watching anime like Demon Slayer and One Piece, I expected more from this, which kind of breaks my heart.


SPANISH
El estilo artístico es realmente simple y realmente me gusta. Da una vibra muy simple y agrega un toque único, diferente al anime como "Mushoku Tensei". Además el sonido es realmente bueno. La música de apertura y final son realmente asombrosas, pero me gustó más la apertura. Además, la música de fondo encaja bien con el anime.
La parte que realmente no me gusta de este anime es la animación. Es realmente malo para el tipo de anime de esta época. La animación es muy estática, especialmente durante las peleas. Hace que parezca estar viendo animaciones antiguas. Parece que los productores tenían un presupuesto bajo pero realmente querían completarlo a tiempo. Este anime se produjo en 2023, por lo que esperaba una buena animación para este tipo de anime de aventuras y fantasía. Después de ver animes como Demon Slayer y One Piece, esperaba más de esto, lo que me rompe el corazón.


image.png

Source


So after finishing this anime, I had this feeling that the producer just quickly ended the season due to certain factors (well, just my feeling though). I felt the need for a season two because there're different questions left unanswered and different, and some things needed to be done for me to be totally satisfied with it, and I hope they can start season 2 soon. Due to this, I'm hoping for a very good season 2. Well, before that, I'll just dive to the manga to satisfy my curiosity.

Overall, this anime really offers a simple story, great adventure, and nice fights. Though the animation is bad, the art still offers a very simple taste, and the whole plot is okay. With that, I'll give it a rating of 7/10.


SPANISH
Entonces, después de terminar este anime, tuve la sensación de que el productor simplemente terminó rápidamente la temporada debido a ciertos factores (bueno, solo mi sensación). Sentí la necesidad de una segunda temporada porque hay diferentes preguntas sin respuesta y diferentes, y algunas cosas debían hacerse para estar totalmente satisfecho con ella, y espero que puedan comenzar la segunda temporada pronto. Por eso espero una muy buena segunda temporada.
En general, este anime realmente ofrece una historia simple, una gran aventura y peleas agradables. Aunque la animación es mala, el arte aún ofrece un sabor muy simple y toda la trama está bien. Con eso le doy una puntuación de 7/10.

That brings me to the end of my post. I hope you enjoyed it. See you next time, bye 👋.


THANKS FOR READING ❤️

Made by me using Canva


Translation done at DeepL

To track this month's contest:
Link 1 : https://peakd.com/hive-158489/@iam-siki/overtake--racing-into-new-horizons-a-racing-anime-review
Link 2 : https://peakd.com/hive-158489/@iam-siki/rent-a-girlfriend-review--a-journey-into-romance-anime
Link 3 : https://peakd.com/hive-158489/@iam-siki/berserk-of-gluttony-review--the-anime-that-focuses-more-on-the-action-than-the-animation-itself
Item 2 : Contest 2.
Link 1
Link 2
Item 3 Ask Anime Comments:
Link 1 : https://peakd.com/hive-158489/@iam-siki/re-theanimerealm-scyeja
Link 2 : https://peakd.com/hive-158489/@iam-siki/re-theanimerealm-sdfd2q
Link 3

Sort:  

lo vi y de verdad me gustó mucho, hablar de los pecados capitales es muy diferente a otros animes que he visto aunado a que la animación es buena. Saludos!


I saw it and I really liked it a lot, talking about the deadly sins is very different from other anime I've seen and the animation is good. Cheers!

Me alegra que te guste, también me gustan las acciones, las aventuras y la trama, pero la animación está muy mal para ese tipo de anime de acción que trata de mostrar poderes, si has visto Demon Slayer, estoy seguro de que te identificas.


I glad you like it, I also like the actions, adventures and plot, but the animation is really off for that kind of action anime that deals with showing powers, if you've watched Demon Slayer, I'm sure you can relate.

no, no he visto Demon Slayer, quizás por eso si me pareció bien la animación, bueno los personajes me gustaron jeje y como dije la temática fue interesante de verdad. Saludos!


no, I haven't seen Demon Slayer, maybe that's why I thought the animation was good, well I liked the characters hehe and as I said the theme was really interesting. Greetings!

Yeah, I would like you to watch it. I'm sure you will enjoy it, cheers.

Bad animation can throw away a good story, probably if the studio had wanted to invest more in the animation then maybe we would hear better things from Berserk Of Gluttony.

Thanks for sharing. Regards!

Yes sure, bad animation will just make someone loose focus on the storyline when watching, I'm just lucky this time to enjoy the actions 😅. I really wished they could do the animation well in the season 2, I really hope.

Heard about it but I haven't seen this one yet..

Everyobe has their own views on animes, you can also watch it and give your review on it. If you're someone that likes when protagonists are too powerful and beat every monster to be more powerful, you'll like this one

Congratulations @iam-siki! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks @hivebuzz

All good @iam-siki! You are a true inspiration for Hive! Keep going and reach your new target!

When I saw "Berserk", I immediately thought it was the anime Berserk but then I calmed down to read your review and realized it wasn't the Berserk I knew. This anime sounds like a wholesome anime and I'd definitely love to watch it.

Funny, as I can also relate. When I saw this anime, I first thought it's berserk, but then I saw that the main theme page is different from the original berserk.

So I can relate.

This anime sounds like a wholesome anime and I'd definitely love to watch it.

Yh, pretty much you can watch it; it's interesting. Give it a try.

Nice to meet you, by the way. Cheers 🥂.

Thankyou so much....Amazing review btw.
It was lovely meeting you (virtually 😂)

Thankyou so much....Amazing review btw.

Thanks, I'm also looking forward to yours.

It was lovely meeting you (virtually 😂)

Nice meeting you too. Have an amazing day.