Fushigi Yuugi: Miaka and Julie Fan Art as a High Schooler

in The Anime Realm13 days ago (edited)
Authored by @iTravelRox

Back in high school, all the girls in our class were fans of Fushigi Yuugi. Every girl had a crush on Tamahome and Hotohori. We were also confused about Nuriko's gender. Hahaha!

PEAKD COVER (9).png

I loved to draw Fushigi Yuugi characters. I never got the chance to keep my other drawings because my classmates asked for my artwork. My cousin in Norway asked for my artwork with Miaka and Nuriko. It was an upside-down kind of artwork which I painted on cardboard ready for framing. I am not sure if my cousin kept it until now.

I collected several cards of Fushigi Yuugi. That was where I took my reference of doing Fushigi Yuugi artwork. I believe I still have all those cards inside a box in my room in Cebu. Although I am still looking on the internet if I could find the same reference.

Anyway, I kept an art journal and made a compilation of my high school memorabilia including my anime artwork. My male classmates loved to borrow my art journal. I thought they were just happy to see my other artwork of Dragon Ball Z characters and Hunter X Hunter. But nope, they went to see Miaka and Julie artwork fantasizing about these sexy bodies. Oh my gosh, boys! Stop being a pervert.


44273_1179020893765_7112291_n_1179020893765.jpg

One guy made a blue pen marking on the right boob of Miaka. I knew who did it as he was vocal about the idea. Of course, I was offended as he disrespected my artwork. Such a pervert!


44273_1179020933766_5463641_n_1179020933766.jpg

The same guy saw this Julie artwork and said he wanted to unzip the shorts. He was the only vocal but several male classmates fantasized about my Miaka and Julie artwork.

Back in high school, having a digital camera was very expensive that's why I wasn't able to document my other artwork before giving them away. I got a digital camera in 2010 and posted my artwork on Facebook.

Now, I am questioning myself if this Fushigi Yuugi anime was suitable for high schoolers. I've seen Sailor Moon characters being sexy but Miaka and Julie were just extremely sexy as shown in the storyline. This is more dramatic compared to Sailor Moon. And Julie experienced sexual assault in the other world. So, she had some depressing moments in the show.


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

Sort:  

Nice artworks.

Ang prettyyyuuu, pero di ko pa talaga napapanood tong series na to. While people are enjoying this series, me on the other hand is busy sa pocketbook that time. And sad ng childhood ko, di manlang nakapanood ng mga ganito. I'm blaming mom for that, they won't let me watch ee 🤧🤧🤧 charrr, lol

Precious Hearts Romance pocketbook reader din ako during high school. hahaha. You can watch it ulit I forgot the ending. Dami na animes in high school di ko na remember ang ending. Dati sa Crunchyroll lang ako nanonood.

Ang galing magdrawing! Di ko alam to, sailor moon lang alam ko hahaha

May sailor moon, may Sakura Card Captor pa... hahaha

I don’t know this series or these characters but I love the pen work. I can’t believe you’ve kept this as long as you have but glad you did. Also, Miaka reminds me a bit of Cardcaptor Sakura

When you draw the anime eyes, you can easily draw different characters. :D

I love the characteristic style of the drawing, it's really great. When I saw these characters I thought they looked familiar, but I didn't remember from where, now I know I saw this anime millions of years ago.

Thanks for sharing your talent. Regards!

Hahah yes, millions of years ago. We only have a few tv channels that showed us some animes and we have to go to the internet to read some manga and watch some on Crunchyroll. You're welcome, glad to submit my high school memory with anime. :D

quedo bien bonito! genial tu trabajo!


It was very nice! great job!

Thank you so much :D

Thank you for sharing your art with us @itravelrox❤️ Fushigi Yuugi definitely had some darker moments compared to Sailor Moon, especially with Julie's storyline. It's a good point to wonder if it's totally appropriate for high schoolers✨️🤔

Have a nice week🥳

You're welcome. Yeah, as a high schooler, we were just focused on Miaka being surrounded by handsome men but never discussed the dark moments of Julie.