Anime Review: Btoom!


btoom.jpg

Like much of the anime I run into, I have no idea when or where it was that I first ran into Btoom! I only know that watching it was quite a bit of fun. Normally I don't go for the whole "player wakes up inside a game" scenario, but I must admit that it's well done here.

The synopsis is that a high ranking player in a game called Btoom!, Ryōta Sakamoto, wakes up on a tropical island where the game is being played in real life. Basically, each player has their own combat style using explosives. The object is to kill the other players and win the game.

The real joy in this anime is seeing the character's navigate the different situations and opponents in the game, including Ryōta's former best friend. The show has a decent romance angle as the main character must work with and protect his in game wife, whom he develops real feelings for upon meeting.

Look this one up, folks. The story's explosive.

btoom2.png

Follow: @jenkinrocket