Lady Sagami from "The tale of princess Kaguya" | Fanart

Who loves Ghibli productions we all know they are enriched with natural landscape, unique artwork as well as story and nostalgic vibes. Most of us might be aware of Totoro, spirited away and ponyo but did you watched "The tale of princess Kaguya" based on the ancient Japanese folk of "the bamboo cutter and the moon princess". The movie was released in 2013 directed by Isao Takahata the same person who directed "The grave of fireflies".

A Fact: The tale of princess kaguya is the most expensive Ghibli production till now with the cost of 53.4M $. So imsane amount of money it might spark thrill in your veins that what makes it different. Actually the whole movie looks like an ancient Japanese painting who is bring to life each scene will carry you to the ancient times. You will be amzed to see the small details in movie.

Plot of the movie

As I said the movie is based on old Japanese folktale which is embeded with emotions and some new stuff was also added. Movie revolves around a childless old couple who found a small fairy in a bamboo with a lot of gold they bring it to the home raise hr like their own child and it made them astonishd that the child is becoming adult within days. They consider her an godess. Living on a countryside Kaguya made many friends Sutemaru is one of them Kaguya is seemed to be more close to Sutemaru and she enjoys a lot stealing melons from the fields, carrying water from the stream, gardening, fishing 🎣 and she dis a lot of fun but one day their parents bring her to the capital in a palace. Probably they buy that huge palace with the gold they discovered in the bamboo anyway as Kaguya has a wild spirit she want to live life with full freedom but her parents press her to be more disciplined, civilized and etiquetted therefore they hire a teacher named "Lady Sagami" she teaches her royal etiquette as well as many other skills like calligraphy, playing Koto(琴 an ancient Japanese guitar 🎸 like tool ) and many other things but during all this Kaguya's mind remain attached to the life she spend with Sutemaru. In many scenes she seems aggressive with her parents and Sagami that she don't want to live a life like that she hate it.

Each night when the moon rise she is seem to be crying and praying sitting in moonlight. Later in the movie she exposed that she came from moon and thr moom diety will bring her back now. There is a lot of fantasy and twist are watchable I wouldn't spoil the movie by explaining each part let itbe remain a plot.

Procedure

As always first of all make a sketch by trying and erasing again and again till it looks perfect.

  • I started making her kimono by mixing a little ocean blue in white for the base colour.

  • The next was making brown by mixing equal amount of yellow blue and red which gave a perfect Brown.

  • Now give details to the kimono by dark will I draw the same flowers as busy in the movie she wears plenty of colours of kimonos.

  • It's time to colour tiny tables and other accessories lying around her there are probably two tiny bowls and a big bowl as well as a self behind her and a lamp.

  • Do you know what is behind her a curtain made out of stems of a grass they are binded together and hanged in front of doors as I have seen the movie I know there is a Zen garden behind there.

  • Right before outlining and applying other details.


You know what is in her hand in one hand it is a tweezer on the other she is carrying a handkerchief actually the scene from which I draw this is in which lady sagami is removing eyebrows of the princess but sorry I didn't draw the princess.


Final look


On the left side it is written the name of movie "かぐや姫の物語) in Japanese and on the right side it is the name of character ( 相模 ) as I always do lady sagami I hope you would like it as this time I did something different it is in looking more inspired by a traditional Japanese art and it is.


Why lady Sagami

You might be wondering why I draw a side chracter insted of lead character the answer is that since long time I wanted to give a try to traditional Japanese art and this chracter gave me the vibe calm, cool, stroct and disciplined chracter Kaguya was fine in this case but the most character I likes was Kaguya sometimes side characters steal the show Am I right.
I hope you guys will support and like my work as before. Last time nobody gave any suggestion about what should I try this time that's why I did which I like myself.

Thanks for reaching my content

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Beautiful artwork! I love the Kaguya story very much. It's a fascinating story. I also make Kaguya artwork sometimes. I love your Japanese writing very much!

Thanks for visiting my content ☺️.
I really enjoyed while making it. As we know the movie itself is inspired by traditional Japanese art that's why I always wanted to give it a try. Would you like to share your artwork I'm looking forward to it.

At some point 'Princess Kaguya' was my babygirl's fave movie. ☘️ Nice job, well done.

I am amazed to see a wonderful art in your post everyday. Your art is really appreciated 💞

quedo bueno, excelente post!


It was good, excellent post!