Ask Anime Week #12: Which anime character had the most undeserved death on or off screen?

We're going to make this a weekly mini-contest where we ask something related to Anime. Read the rules carefully.

TAR_contest.png


Ask Anime Question of the Week:

Which anime character had the most undeserved death on or off screen?

That one character that was too good to die, or maybe a character that death was deserved but died too soon (villains usually). Character deaths are part of telling a narrative, they advance the plot or become the stepping stones for the surviving characters to move forward, I'm asking which characters got axed too soon that their death became underwhelming.


Rules:
  1. Comment your answer to the weekly question to this post as an entry.
  2. Must be in English but you can attach a section for a different language too as long as there is an English section that conveys the same thought.
  3. No need to make a post about the contest or use a specific tag for your post. You can still post about this but it serves no purpose in picking a winner.
  4. Tag someone who you think might be interested in joining (optional) but if that person participates in the event, there's a bonus reward IF either of you wins. In cases where multiple users tag the same person, we'll count only the user that mentioned that person first as evidenced by the time stamp on the blockchain.
  5. Comments must be below 4 sentences for the actual entry. There's no need to comment 4 sentences for an entry, it's just a max number to avoid the entries becoming long form posts. If you have conversations in the comment section, make sure it's done on a separate comment/reply section.
  6. Response must not be AI generated. While this can sometimes be a challenge to detect and prove, it's not worth trying because you're being asked to share in your own words.
  7. Only 1 winner will be picked. Criteria for judging will not be disclosed but the closest hint available is: put some thought into your answer within the limited number of sentences available.

Notes: Think less of this as a contest and more of an avenue to share your thoughts and get more exposure within the community. We'll adapt the mechanics of the contest depending on the outcome of the previous contests so expect rules can change in the future.

Prize: The winner will receive 1 Hive.

If you won and tagged another user that participated in the mini-contest, you get 2 Hive and the other person you tagged gets 0.5 Hive.

If the person you tagged won, they get 2 Hive and you get 0.5 Hive for tagging them along.


Sort:  

Neji definitely got an undeserved death. I mean, what's the point of him knowing that he could change his fate if he just ends up dying and sacrificing for the main branch again, just like what his father did. His death somehow reminded me that no matter how much you fight the fate that's predestined for you, you'll just end up the same way. It was really disappointing that the creator killed him just to improve the romantic relationship between Hinata and Naruto ತ⁠_⁠ತ.

3a9bbcd28cd89963a646787b703c03c3875bed89fd2a2ecb196f4153ece0389a.0.JPG

Source

You stole my answer hahahaha, but this is so true, even with her death, Naruto and Hinata's relationship still felt too inorganic.

The character that first comes to mind is Ace of One Piece. I still cry every time I think about that heartbreaking scene. I wanted him to stay alive until the very end to witness his brother's growth. Similarly, I also felt equally devastated when Rengoku of Kimetsu no Yaiba died. 🔥🔥😭🔥🔥

Dang!!! Why are you reopening my wounds??? 😭😭😭

No one's talking about Nanami from jjk? Or Himeno from Chainsaw man? Tbh I don't know which death was more painful. Himeno definitely didn't deserve that, although she was low-key depressed and tired of seeing her partners dying. Chainsaw man is an incredible anime and I hate the fact they rushed the season 1, could've been so much more.🥲 Nanami's death, I'm not a pure jjk fan, I'm not obsessed, it's a great anime,fun to watch but nah , Nanami definitely didn't deserve that.

I kinda anticipated the deaths of these two—Himeno obviously wanted to free herself from the cycle of losing partners, so it's quite logical that she died before Aki did. As for Nanami, I know Gege-sensei will really kill him, but the way he died was something I did not expect.

Fairs. Yeah, you're probably right about Himeno but Nanami,I mean I was in shock for five minutes straight cause my brain wasn't connecting the dots properly,I mean it was but I didn't just want to think clearly. I was like "howww!?", to my phone's screen that certain day

I think one of the deaths that generated me more sadness and anger was Shirley's in code geass, she finally discovers the truth about Lelouch, his identity, his actions and everything but still decides to support him or help him for the love she felt, all for Rolo with his obsession for Lelouch decides to kill her without trying to understand the situation or dialogue with her, also the death was very cowardly, time stops and she does not realize anything or why she died. after that how I loved the scene where Rolo dies for using his Geass too much often.

The only absurd thing was how they revived her in a fanservice way in a movie that did follow the story of the anime, it was still a very sad death in the season.

untitled.gif

The death of Nuriko from Fushigi Yuugi was the one that hurt and surprised me the most, it was unexpected, emotional and he really didn't deserve to die, he was my favorite one, ouch! Later I understood that his death was for the main characters to move forward and continue the story, but he didn't deserve it and it was totally unexpected. I was crying for days haha 😢

I don't like School Days; it's one of the few 3/10s I have on my MAL page (barely that too). The main character was not a good dude, but "Nice Boat" was not deserved either. That meme and scene almost killed my ability to continue being a fan of the medium.

Was it satisfactory? Maybe yes, he deserved it? Of course not, Makoto was a bad guy but he definitely didn't deserve to die so atrociously, but well, I guess he reaped what he sowed. And yes, School Days it's bad

I go with Krillin's death (killed by Frieza). Frieza made him explode and nothing was left of him after the explosion.

Definitely Sasha from Attack on Titan, it is an understatement to say that i never saw it coming, but i guess it added to the almost unpredictable nature of the series.

I will always feel sorry about Itachi from Naruto. He had such a horrible life, had to do so many awful things because he was manipulated but at the same time he fought to the very last minute to protect the most precious thing he still had.

He's one of my favorite characters and his death will always make cry.

untitled.gif

Teresa of the faint smile. She was too good to die, and she did it too soon, however it was absolutely necessary her death to make way for Claire's plot (Claymore).

Also "L" from Death Note comes to mind, I think he shouldn't have died.