FIRST ENCOUNTER

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)

cave_city_stroll.png

Except from the Lizard Cave

As we walked past the confinement area into an opening, I could hear whispers and mumbling of the alien creatures around me. The way they looked made me feel as though I was actually the alien amongst them.

Hello folks and welcome to another episode of my world-building series, today I decided to build on this scenery, this is the first time I'm illustrating this two races beside each other, and I did my best to portray the size difference between the two beings.

I tried to portray a defensive and isolated body posture for Thorak in this scene, with his arms crossed around his body, fun fact, I actually learned that body posture style from a body language youtube channel I watched some months ago.

I discovered that body posture can go a long way in telling a story in cases where facial features cannot be observed.

I also learned a lot about concept drawing when working on this, in terms of composition and negative space, I guess concept art is a bit like landscape photography in that regard, only that, you are the one setting the imaginative pieces yourself.

Although I'm still in the process of defining my art style in regards to landscaping, I've observed that I like contrasting shapes by positioning the starting viewpoint behind a fairly large object that slightly obstructs the distant objects.

PAINTING PROCESS {EXTENDED GIF}
painting_cave_city.gif

PAINTING PROCESS {SUMMARY}

  • Defining the Landscape outline
    st_1a.jpg

  • Rough Sketch
    st_7n.jpg

  • Re-Defined Sketch with texture brushes
    st_7m.jpg

  • Additional detailing with darker shades and highlights
    st_7l.jpg

  • Adding the figures to the scene
    st_7k.jpg

  • Texture brush - (Hard Elliptical)
    brushes_used.jpg

STORYLINE

lizard_alien_bye_for_now.png

art and concept by @abmakko

world_building.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your world building series.

Thanks for passing by brother :-)

So, that's the daughter charactor who lead thorak into the cave!!

So powerful statement at the start -

As we walked past the confinement area into an opening, I could hear whispers and mumbling of the alien creatures around me. The way they looked made me feel as though I was actually the alien amongst them.

Loved it, both are aliens at their point of view...so well brought out!!

Work on this, maybe it can become a serial we can watch... ofcourse TVs are obsolete, still this one has the markings to make a serial maybe on a streaming servie, but ofcourse that will take time. Only possible after you finish this script and sketches...then refine it!!

Still its going well, in the early stages, get your concepts clear, and plot unravels.

There is a beauy to this, that its not in TV forward, with your visuals... I love your imagination, and the work your showing, the skeletons of the content... pretty cool!!

The daughter character(Misa) is not actually in this particular scene... 🙂

I actually want to develop an RPG game on this concept, i have the abilities to pull if off, I'm just tied to my day job with little time to spare, but I'm getting there one step at a time.

My reasoning behind this type of digital illustration is mainly to power up my art-skills, I just love the idea of digitally representing stuffs and imagination in my head.

Thanks for passing by, I'm glad you enjoyed it... I always love it when my content connects with people, that is my main goal ❤️☺️

Man this was really good! Kep that drawing up!

Thanks for loving my work... I do illustrate at least once a week, I found out it's best not to force creativity, quality over quantity. I got something coming this week, thanks for passing by :-)

Beautiful art, an good illustration. They're all lovely

Thanks for passing by, glad you enjoyed it :-)

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.