Cosmic Creations: Nature Drawing

in Alien Art Hive6 months ago (edited)

nature groobs.jpg

Hello all!
This is my entry for the cosmic creations contest.
I decided to take a quite literal approach to the theme of being inspired by nature. I'm using the real world as the basis for surrealism. The foundation for this drawing is made up of three photographs I took whilst frolicking about and appreciating New Zealand's stunning ecosystem. I absolutely adore immersing myself in the complex interconnectedness of all living things. This contest suits me well, as I'm pretty sure that everything I create is in someway informed by the underlying beauty and geometry of nature.

So, a little bit about the process:

Here are the images I used.

SebastianHart584--0026_27.jpg
SebastianHart4902--0009_8.jpg

If you would like to get more context on the photography, please check out these two posts in the Black and White community.
~ Gorgeous River Fairy
~ In the Midst of a Retreating Storm

I took a trip to the local library and printed them all out on a single piece of paper. This is how things were looking after I ripped them off the page and glued everything semi-unconsciously into my sketchbook. The only plan I really had was to make use of the trippy tree trunk face in some way.

unnamed (4).jpg

From then on it's simply a matter of adding lines and dots to try and merge everything together in a convincing tangle of chaos. The outlines of the natural objects served as the launchpad for my own imaginary additions.

unnamed.jpg
unnamed (2).jpg
unnamed (3).jpg

I used some white paint pen in a couple of places to spruce things up.
Towards the end I had to accept that some of the stuff up the top was overkill and actually detracting from the quality of the final piece. It's a little bit sad to remove something you've poured a decent chunk of time into, but I'm willing to do it for the sake of interesting art.

nature groobs.jpg

So that's how the collage came to be! I'm pretty happy with the final outcome. I think it looks like the spirit of the rainforest is blessing my girlfriend as she sits beside the stream, soaking up the cosmic love which radiates through out everything.

Thank you for looking and best of luck to everyone else who has entered this contest!
Peace and Love,

psychgraff vector.png

Sort:  
 6 months ago  

Very cool thanks for joining the contest!

Thanks for setting it up :) I’m glad I got something done in time

Woah this is really cool, I couldn't believe what came out of this. But it's really beautiful.

Appreciate it!!

Congratulations @acidmince! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023