Transmissions from Inner Space: I'm Seb and this is my art.

in Alien Art Hive7 months ago

dissolving.jpg

Greetings fellow cyberhumans! My name is Seb, my alias is Acidmince, and I am a new addition to this glorious hivemind. I'm excited to be a participant here. I love art, and I love that I've stumbled upon this space. It fills me with joy to see the beautifully diverse range of trippy bits and bobs that everyone is sharing. All the creativity gets me stoked. I look forward to interacting with you all and also contributing with my own little slice of the imagination.

It seems that the first order of business is to provide a glimpse into who I am and what I do.

I'll begin with a self-portrait. This is me doing what I enjoy most, hunching over a sketchbook with a pen in hand, allowing the mind to wander and letting the hand move however it wants to. There's never really a plan, and for that reason there's no need for pencil or revision. I just accept spontaneity and let the intuition do its thing.

myself.jpg

I'm 24 years young. My birthplace and home is a small pacific island slightly north of Antarctica, named New Zealand by Dutch explorers but originally known as Aotearoa, the land of the long white cloud. The environment here is magnificent and stunning. You are never far from the rugged ocean or a patch of ancient twisted bush. Usually there's a beautiful mountain or river nearby. The birds are spectacular. I'm very fortunate to have grown up here. My reservoir of inspiration is full of the shapes, forms and feelings that have stimulated my brain from the moment I was born. The world I'm a part of seeps out unconsciously in these automatic doodles.

This is the 'Infinite Pukana', a psychedelic form of the intense facial expression used by Aotearoa's native people, the Maori, during their powerful war dance, the Haka.

infinite pukana.jpg

As you will see, the images tend to be pretty odd. They’re generally a mindless arrangement of vaguely related clumps of nonsense. Total mind vomit. Sometimes the paper is attacked with a frenzy of scribbles and zig zags, sometimes the lines are placed slowly and meticulously with great consideration. Whatever the method of application, no matter the mood, I always have fun.

I'm often listening to some form of music when I draw. Sometimes the effect it has on me is pretty blatant.

heavy psych.jpg

This carefree process provides some cool insight into life. I get to check out little fragments of my vast unconscious self. It’s therapeutic, cathartic. I’m discovering who I am. Unravelling the mystery of being alive and more specifically of being a person called Seb. Exploring a hidden universe of personality. What AM I? What is going here? The holy What-the-heck. I’m grateful to have found a hobby that encourages existential contemplation. I’ve always enjoyed drawing. Only recently have I begun to understand how positively transformative it can be.

Palm Of My Hand # Scan # 600dpi.jpg

So, as you can probably tell, I'm a bit of a strange cat. This is what I do every single day: draw weird pictures and contemplate the nature of the self.
In the past I've made clothing and zines, done commissioned work for bands and friends, had little exhibitions in coffee shops and makeshift galleries, and decorated walls with bizarre murals. Having these occasional opportunities is a blessing. For the most part though, I make things for myself and do it because I love it.

Blogging is a new venture for me! I Appreciate anyone who has glanced at this post and with whom I can hopefully connect in the future.

I also take photos and write poetry, but that can wait for another time. There will be many more posts to come.

I'll tie this off with a few random pages from my sketchbooks.

68.jpg
56.jpg
50.jpg
img20230516_13460519.jpg
img20230616_15135453.jpg

That's it for now. Let me know what you think. I'm open to all feedback and criticism :)

Please check out my Instagram for more content.
https://www.instagram.com/sebh.art/

Thanks to @juliakponsford for suggesting I make one of these introductory posts.

Much love! May all beings be peaceful!

Sort:  
 7 months ago  

Great to learn a little more about you 🤗

Total mind vomit.

LOL very beautiful vomit though!

Happy to share, glad to be here :)
Haha, thanks for seeing beauty in the spew. Sometimes it really does feel like a mental purge! Vomit is quite an intense analogy though. Maybe it's more like breathing. Total brain breaths. Taking in oxygen from the magical world of inspiration and blowing out inky carbon dioxide, watching it condense on the paper.

Congratulations @acidmince! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2023

I love your creations. The details are amazing!

Thank you once again!! Your paintings are truly outstanding, they radiate such deep beauty and mysticism