Painting process of Invocation#7 of Eye am. Step-by-step. (Eng-Sp)

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5140896852416249384-y.jpg

My small oil painting of Invocation #7, Eye Am.

image.png

Invocation #7. Eye Am, By Mandelsage. Available on Prohibition. Mint here

Since my hands are taking a break from the hard activity of making animations, I've had to deal with the difficult task of controlling my anxiety without art. I have not succeeded, I do not know how to do such a thing.

However, I found a way to make art in a way that is more relaxing for my hands, and definitely not stressful at all: using oil paints. I have always liked this medium, it was one of the first ones I learned to use, and although I have acrylics too (courtesy of Jody) they are difficult for me to handle because they dry so fast. My purpose is to relax for a couple of hours, doing something simple with the mediums I know without the stress of feeling like I'm committed to doing a piece that must respond to a concept, or learning something new without wanting to waste paints or ruin the whole thing.

So yesterday, taking advantage of my lonely day, I decided to paint a little with oils. Something small, just to relax. The result? I spent three hours wasting time wondering what to paint. It's like the desire to make something perfect takes over me.

So when I was starting to get frustrated, Jody suggested that I should paint an eye. But not just any eye, but Invocation #7 of Eye Am, the eye spawned in his Eye Am project.

I love this project, and especially Invocation #7, my eye, because it's a blind eye. Since Jody created Eye Am I have had a special liking for blind eyes, because they take me to the work of José Saramago's book, Blindness.

If you want to know more about Eye am, visit here.

So I decided that I would paint Invocation #7. I thought it was great, because this generative art project is in constant evolution, that is to say that this eye is always changing in its colors and characters. So I will keep a painting about how this eye looked at a certain moment and that probably will not be repeated.

I didn't think of sharing this at first, so photos of the process are scarce. But it's not a complex painting either, so it's ok.

On a piece of watercolor paper I made my sketch and began to paint. Always starting from the darkest to the lightest, using Prussian blue and ultramarine blue, no black. I chose blue for the skin because the background of the Invocation is deep blue.

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5140896852416249381-y.jpg

To obtain the lighter colors, I gradually mixed with white. I painted the pupil last, not with pure white but with a mixture of white with blue. Absolute white would have looked very strange

image.png

So I got this result. Something very simple that I did, that allowed me to deal with the anxiety of the day to day. Tried not to flap my legs while doing it, lol.

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5140896852416249383-x.jpg

Due to the nature of traditional paintings, painting in this way relaxed me, it is a playful process where you practically play with the texture of the paint, with the softness of the strokes. I will definitely be painting with oils more often.

telegram-cloud-photo-size-1-5140896852416249379-y.jpg

My painting of Invocation #7 and Invocation #7 itself. It was around 11pm, so the eye looks about to close. Almost time to sleep for the project.

Do you recognize the symbols in this eye?


Versión en Español

Ya que mis manos se están tomando un descanso de la dura actividad de hacer animaciones, he tenido que lidiar con la difícil tarea de controlar mi ansiedad sin arte. No lo he logrado, no sé hacer tan cosa.

Sin embargo, encontré la manera de hacer arte de una forma más relajada para mis manos, y definitivamente para nada estresante: usar pinturas al oleo. Desde siempre me ha gustado este medio, fue uno de los primeros que aprendí a utilizar, y aunque tengo acrílicos también (cortesía de Jody) es difícil para mí manejarlos por su rápido secado. Mi propósito es relajarme por un par de horas, haciendo algo sencillo con los medios que conozco sin el estrés de sentir que estoy comprometida haciendo una pieza que debe responder a un concepto, o aprendiendo algo nuevo sin el deseo de desperdiciar las pinturas o arruinar el soporte.

Asi que ayer, aprovechando mi día de soledad decidí pintar un poco con óleos. Algo pequeño, solo para relajarme. El resultado? pasé tres horas perdiendo el tiempo preguntándome que pintar. Es como si el deseo de hacer algo perfecto se apoderara de mí.

Así que cuando ya empezaba a sentirme frustrada, Jody me sugirió que pintara un ojo. Pero no cualquier ojo, sino Eye Am #7, el ojo generado en su proyecto Eye Am.

Yo amo este proyecto, y especialmente el #7, mi ojo, pues es un ojo ciego. Desde que Jody creó Eye Am he tenido Especial gusto por los ojos ciegos, pues me llevan a la obra de José Saramago, Ensayo Sobre la Ceguera.

Si quieren saber más sobre Eye Am, visiten aquí.

Así que decidí que pintaría Invocation #7. Me pareció genial, pues este proyecto de arte generativo está en constante evolución, es decir que este ojo está cambiando siempre en simbología que lo compone, colores y caracteres. Así conservaré una pintura sobre como se veía este ojo en un momento determinado y que probablemente no se repetirá.

No pens{e en compartir esto en el primer momento, porque la verdad ni lo pensé, así que las fotos del proceso son escasas. Pero tampoco es una pintura compleja, entonces ya que.

En un pedazo de papel de acuarela hice mi boceto y comencé a pintar. Empezando siempre desde lo más oscuro a lo más claro, usando azul de Prusia y azul ultramarino, nada de negro. Escogí que la piel fuese azul porque el fondo de la pieza de arte generativo es Azul oscuro.

Para obtener los colores más claros, fui mezclando poco a poco con blanco, La pupila la pinté de última, no con blanco puro sino con una mezcla de blanco con azul. El blanco absoluto se hubiese visto muy raro.

Así obtuve este resultado. Algo muy sencillo que hice, que me permitió lidiar con la ansiedad del día a adía. intenté no agitar las piernas mientras lo hacía, lol.

Debido a la naturaleza de las pinturas tradicionales, pintar de esta forma me relajó, es un proceso lúdico donde prácticamente juegas con la textura de la pintura, con la suavidad de los trazos. Definitivamente voy a pintar con oleos con más frecuencia.

Ustedes reconocen los símbolos en este ojo?


My links

https://linktr.ee/alejandraher

Art and review By ©Alejandra Her

Sort:  

Beautiful, and since I'm not well versed into EyeAm I have no idea what are the symbols. Care to tell me?

I have no idea either! lol. They change every day and the artist uses thousands of symbols that change periodically. Part of the philosophy of the project is about the meaning we give to things 😌
So, you are free of give to these symbols the meaning you want, like I do.

Estás recibiendo un voto por parte del proyecto "HiveArte" (@hive-134572).

Su publicación fue seleccionada para nuestro reporte de curación semanal.
Contáctenos para saber más del proyecto a nuestro servidor de Discord.

Si deseas delegar HP al proyecto: Delegue 5 HP - Delegue 10 HP - Delegue 20 HP - Delegue 30 HP - Delegue 50 HP - Delegue 100 HP.


@alejandra.her, sorry to see that you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Check out our last posts:

HiveFest Meetings Contest