The Blurred Edges of Memory: Digital painting + Process | Los Bordes Borrosos de la Memoria: Pintura Digital + Proceso

image.png

A few days ago I dedicated myself to experimenting with digital painting. I've been reconditioning my workspace and reorganizing my creative processes. I've always felt pressure for my art to also be my livelihood. As a professional artist, much of my work has been aimed at the market.

Hace unos días me dediqué a experimentar con la pintura digital. Estuve reacondicionando mi espacio de trabajo y reorganizando mis procesos creativos. Siempre he sentido la presión de que mi arte deba ser también mi sustento económico. Desde que soy artista profesional, gran parte de mi trabajo ha sido llevado al mercado.

Sometimes this conditions my creative fluidity and doesn't allow me to fully relax during the process. While I've never conceived of my works and concepts for commercial purposes, there is pressure for them to end up in the art market.

A veces esto condiciona mi fluidez creativa y no me permite relajarme plenamente en el proceso. Aunque nunca he concebido mis obras y mis conceptos con fines comerciales, si existe la presión se que éstas terminen en el mercado de arte.

That's why lately I've been sharing less about my work, while reconfiguring this mental dynamic. I want to freely explore my inspirations and vision of the world, without each piece having to be forcibly put up for sale. And I'm achieving this disconnection little by little.

Por eso últimamente he compartido menos sobre mi trabajo, mientras reconfiguro esta dinámica mental. Quiero explorar libremente mis inspiraciones y mi visión del mundo, sin que cada pieza deba ser forzosamente puesta a la venta. Y estoy logrando esta desconexión poco a poco.

In this case I decided to paint without focusing too much on details, as I usually do. I just let myself be guided by intuition. What I'm most satisfied with in the result is the hand I depicted. I love it when its silhouette is sharply defined with just a few strokes. I achieved this by first outlining the darkest areas and then subtly adding the skin color.

En este caso decidí pintar sin enfocarme excesivamente en detalles, como suelo hacer. Solo me dejé guiar por la intuición. Lo que más me satisfizo del resultado fue la mano que plasmé. Me encanta cuando su silueta queda nítidamente definida con pocos trazos. Esto lo logré delineando primero las partes oscuras y luego agregando sutilmente el color de piel.

Sometimes I can obsess too much over details and the effect is counterproductive. Perhaps the most important thing is for the work to clearly and simply convey its message.
This painting comes from a childhood memory of geometry. The scalene triangle, with unequal sides that still compose a whole, inspires me to reflect on the different parts that make us up in precarious balance.

A veces puedo obsesionarme demasiado con los detalles y el efecto es contraproducente. Quizás lo más importante es que la obra transmita de forma clara y sencilla.
Este cuadro surge de un recuerdo sobre la geometría desde la infancia. El triángulo escaleno, con lados desiguales pero que componen un todo, me inspira a reflexionar sobre las diferentes partes que nos conforman en equilibrio precario.

As in my "The Unremembered" series, I used an aesthetic based on silhouettes, thick strokes and blank spaces, to evoke that which remains in our memory, even if blurry.

Al igual que en mi serie "Lo no olvidado", utilicé una estética basada en siluetas, trazos gruesos y espacios en blanco, para evocar aquello que permanece en nuestra memoria aunque de forma borrosa.

I hope you find this spontaneous process interesting, where I prioritized intuition over perfectionism.

Espero que les resulte interesante este proceso espontáneo, donde prioricé la intuición por sobre el perfeccionismo.

Untitled-1_01.jpg

Untitled-1_02.jpg

Pt 1: Rough and Fine Sketch / Boceto aproximado y boceto fino

IMG_2473.JPG

IMG_2474.JPG

Pt 2: Pain Colors / Colores planos

IMG_2475.JPG

Pt 3: Shadows / Sombras

IMG_2476.JPG

Pt 4: Background / Fondo

IMG_2477.JPG

Pt 5: Light and skin details / Luz y detalles de la piel

IMG_2479.JPG

Pt 6: Texture / Textura

IMG_2480.JPG

Finished piece / Pieza terminada

image.png

Details / Detalles

image.png

image.png



My links

https://linktr.ee/alejandraher

Art and review By ©Alejandra Her

Sort:  

This piece has peaceful geometry about it. Very nice composition.

This turned out beautiful!