Monster Banquet

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

monsterbanquet_hive.png


I just love to make these kinds of paintings!
They seem simple, but actually it's a lot of tinkering about with shapes and colors.
And I'm quite a perfectionist in these fields. I'm adding monsters, aliens and little hats until the composition meets my aesthetic demands ^^

So, Welcome to the "Monster Banquet"!
Please, have a seat!
There are lots of fine delicacies on our menu, that you will find nowhere else! Try our Recommendation of the Day: Delicious Space Fish Meat in a spicy Ghost Sweat Sauce with sweet Tulaberries as a dessert. You won't be disappointed!

Three editions of this (slightly morbid) piece of art is available on NFT-Showroom.
Check out my gallery, if you like: https://nftshowroom.com/anafae/gallery


alienfood_2_kontur_hive.png

all images are mine

Sort:  

I love this kinds of paintings too. I can see how not easy it is to create such composition

But it's fun, my favorite activity at the moment :-) I think there will be more like that in the future.
Thank you for your comment <3
And Welcome to my little blog!

This style goes back to Joan Miro - example: Peacock Feathers, 1956

image.png

Ui, I like that painting! Great tip, I think I'm gonna research a bit about Joan Miro, looks like he made art that I would like :-)
Thanks!

Yes! I managed to get my hands on the last remaining edition! It was about time I owned one of your artworks. I love your style and humor :>)

Yeih! Juhuu! So cool! Thank you! <3<3<3

Thank you for sharing your love through your work and blog, I can feel your vibe in your comments and art. You made me feel nostalgic for my old doodles, which I have abandoned in my sketchbooks for so long, thinking one day I would go back to them but I never do!

I also read about your pricing in one of the comments on this post, and I have also been burned out and disappointed after only having sold one piece in a long time after dedicating so much work to just a few pieces which I priced too high. I guess I just need to create more, but I'm always in between procrastinating and depressed because I never get to where I want to be with my work and life, which of course is a bind in itself because I distract myself from my real goal which is to just have fun creating whatever my mind and inner child want to play with. It's always been a struggle

untitled.gif

I know exactly how you feel, this is the challenge, all artists have to face, so it seems. Those feelings come back to me every now and then, and I loose my motivation to create and am afraid to start a new painting and ask myself, why the hell am I doing this anyway ^^
But by now I see those phases as an opportunity to grow. Again I get the opportunity to practice to not listen to my fears, but to focus on what I want to achieve, no matter what my scared and depressed mind wants to make me believe is real.
It really is a matter of practice. It gets easier every time I've overcome such a phase. The worried voices get quieter and I get stronger.
What is important to me, when I'm in a struggle phase, is to not stop painting! Otherwise it gets harder and harder to start again. So I don't stop. I maybe don't paint as much as I usually do, in my stronger times, but I paint every day for a while. Maybe I keep working on a piece or I start a new one, or I just doodle around, without any plan or intend that is has to be something great (last time [this one](https://peakd.com/hive-158694/@anafae/the-furry-guy-that-cheered-me-up came out of one of those sessions ^^)
That helps me a lot. And I try not to take my struggle to seriously (it's just another feeling, nothing special) and after a while it goes away.
The important thing is to keep working on what you want to achieve. If you hear the call, follow it, no matter what. It isn't gonna be easy (life isn't meant to be easy), but you'll always know, that you're doing it for a good reason, to be happy.

I've looked at your gallery, and you're art is awesome! So playful, colorful and funny, you can bring people a lot of light with your artworks! You really should keep on creating! And that you've sold a piece for 250 Hive is proof of that!

It's maybe just a few little adjustments now in pricing and the number of editions.
I figured out, that to get a foot in the door, and to be seen, I have to accommodate the people a bit with my prices, I need to create artworks, that I feel comfortable to sell for a smaller price. And I hope someday, when more people know me, someone will be willing to buy one of my precious single editions. For me that worked great, and I've sold a lot of pieces, which again raised my mood and my motivation to keep on creating. I now know, that people do like my artworks! And that's awesome :-)

I really hope, that helped a bit. Sometimes it's good to hear someone else say, what we actually already know ourselves ^^

Please please keep on creating! You're art is great!

Big Hugs and lots of Love
<3

I've been trying to post a reply to you since yesterday but for some reason it doesn't want to go through >:(
Do you use discord? :)

Yeah, I do! It's funny, I've signed up there yesterday ^^ anafae#4922 (I think this is my username)

Nice piece. It recalled me "Aaahh!!! Real Monsters" which was shown on TV =)

Thanks! :-)
What kind of show was it? Sounds cool ^^

It was a cartoon)
image.png

Great to see your unique works there at NFT showroom. I have made it to the platform with my first 2 works today. It feels so inspiring, even if nothing sells as such lol.

Yeih! Congratulations!
Sooner or later you'll sell one of your artworks. I haven't sold a single piece for weeks at first. I think, because no one knew me and I only created expensive single editions ^^
Your art really fits into NFT-Showroom. The people are gonna like it :-) Just keep filling your gallery.

I realize that we actually have a small audience since Hive platform is not many people, and of those even less have found NFT Showroom. Perhaps we are ahead of the pack.

And I hear what you are saying about pricing your art appropriately to get any buyers. Maybe many editions of a work for cheaper is the way to go about it.

For me having a smaller audience was a good way to start, to gain a little more confidence about my art, so I'm happy to get this opportunity here on Hive. And when the rest of the pack comes around, we're already here :-)

Yes, after my single editions seemed to not get sold, I decided to try a different way (and it worked so far ^^). I think it's probably a good idea to have artworks in different price ranges.
I thought a lot about prizes, and think about it with every new artwork that I make. I try to follow my feelings, so if I really really love a piece that I make, and I had put a lot of love, effort and hours of work in it, I would still make it a single edition for a higher price. And if it doesn't sell, I won't mind, because I wouldn't sell it for less.
Not that I don't like my less expensive paintings (I love them all, they're all part of me <3), but some are special. And after all, I want people to see my art, and one day, I hope to be able to buy some bread and cheese with it :-)
It's always a matter of balance, like everything else ^^

Yes we want to sell our work for food money as struggling artists lol.

I was wondering about the concept of minting more copies of an artwork in the future. For example if all of our copies of a work sell. Can we then mint more copies of the same work, presumably by uploading it a second time. I'm not sure if this is possible or allowed. Do have any insight into that?
Many thanks.

I think technically you could do that. But in my opinion it wouldn't be wise and not very nice towards the people who had already bought that artwork. Because they also include the rarity of a piece in their decision of whether to buy or not. So maybe they had bought it, because there are only three editions, so it's more valuable.
I know, it's technically not the same thing, because it's another mint, but still ... it wouldn't feel right for me.

By the way, I think, I'll give twitter a try ... maybe it's good to have a bridge to the 'outside of Hive' world ^^