The Golden Bull Sculpture - Making of

in Alien Art Hive11 months ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!! I am back with another Art and the breakdown of the creation process. This time I created a crypto related Art, A Bull (Since Bear Market is Making people sad :D).

I didn't sketch any thing before getting into sculpting. I just had an image in my mind an dove right into the sculpting part. Before into the Process, Here is the final result:

TGB-GIF.gif

Step 1

It Started with a Sphere which I then molded into a basic quadruped.

1.jpg

I mainly used Move and Clay Buildup brush along with *Dynamesh. Just some pulling around, adding and removing clay and I got this.


*What is Dynamesh?

About the Dynamesh, Dynamesh basically gives you an even topology to work with coz when we move the mesh to give it a different shape, like in my case I have to pull the legs out of the sphere shape and in that process the existing polygon also got stretched caused the density of the mesh become uneven.

dynamesh.jpg

Its difficult to sculpt when you have uneven sized polygons. Dynamesh provides an even topology to work with.


Step 2

Next step was to develop the basic shape of the bull and take it a bit more further by defining more smaller forms on the primary form.

2.jpg

Here I defined the triceps muscles of the foreleg, the neck and the hump.


step 3

3.jpg

This was a simplified sculpture that didn't took me much time to reach the "nearly finished" point so Next, I started working on posing the sculpture a little to break down the symmetry and make it look visually more interesting.


Step 4

I wanted the secondary forms to be so subtle so when I see I over did them I just use the Smooth brush to dial them back.

4.jpg

To this point, I added a tail, made the pose little more better, added the separate geometry for the horns and added a platform for the bull to stand on.


Step 5

I was pretty happy with the sculpture but...sometimes, you create something that looks good today/now and you go to sleep happy and then wake up next day and look at it again, it is not gonna look as good as it was last night.

This guy is telling the truth

5.jpg

Yeah, I am sure you've been there too. :D

so, I found out that the sculpture lost some shine now and looked boring. Creative experimentation started again and finally I ended up with something that was looking pretty interesting to me.


Step 6

After that I started to think of texturing and rendering coz theres nothing more I could do with sculpting. I Liked What I had at this point.

6.jpg

For the texturing, I was thinking of a worn out material with chipping paint. Here are some of the test images:

6-1.jpg


6-2.jpg


6-3.jpg

It wasn't looking very nice and I didn't have many options for advanced rendering coz of hardware limitations.


Step 7

After some experimenting with materials, I was finally be able to get something decent. It did look like a gold material with some blue liquid. I liked this Fusion. Here is the Final image and the Process Gif.

7.jpg


Process Gif:

Gif-Process.gif


Challenges:

But That's not all. There are a few ordeals I had to go through. First one was to get the turntable to loop properly. The App I am using was not exporting the last few frames for some unknown reason. To fix this I had to render the missing frames part separately and combined the two videos through editing to get the perfect loop.

Another problem I faced was the artifacts. I noticed there were some artifacts in the video and I couldnt ignore them coz they were so visible in the video. So, to fix this one I had to import the video in Photoshop and paint every artifact the color of the background and I had to do this for every frame that contained artifacts.


Here is the final Turntable animation one more time:

TGB-GIF.gif

Thanks for the read guys!! Feel free to share your opinions about the Golden Bull. Add what you would have done differently or what did you like or dislike in the current design. Would Love to know your thoughts. Until next time fellas, GoodBye!! :))

Sort:  

untitled.gif

Haha!! :D