The Hybrid: Digital Sculpture Breakdown

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, Its been a loooong time!! I was inactive for quite a while but thanks to a good friend of mine 'coz he convinced me to start posting again. So, I am strating with sharing a breakdown of a digital sculpture that I created last year.

What exactly caused me to create this was another Alien-Human hybrid concept which was too complex for my PC to handle so I settled for creating something rather simple. I was into meditation so I decided to include the meditation in this concept


Step 1

So, I started out with a sphere and sculpted a very basic human head with a lot of proportional and anatomical issues. At this point it was not a problem as I was aiming to establish the basic forms of the head.


Step 2

Now after the establishment of basic forms, Next thing I had to work on the gender like if someone sees it they should be able to tell if it is a male or female. So I tried to get that thing done by narrowing down the jaw area and worked a little more on the mouth and cheeks.


Step 3

After some more sculpting, the face started to look like more feminine. I liked how features like high cheek bones, narrow jaw, small nose were working together nicely to add femininity to the face, but still not there. And Lets not forget it is a Hybrid.


Step 4

So at this point I sculpted the body and closed the eyes. The reason behind closing the eyes was that I titled this one as Meditating Hybrid. It was looking pretty alright at this point and my next task was adding some colors to it.


Step 5

I painted the textures using poly painting techniques in Zbrush (Sculpting app I was using) One thing I would like to mention that it is not as straight forward as it looks. You have to do go through so many things in order to get a clean mesh and to avoid certain problems.


Step 6

Later on I added eye lashes, third eye and some jewelry to our Hybrid and at this point I was pretty Happy. It was super difficult for me to reach this point as the mesh hit the density that was nearly impossible for my old PC to handle.


GIF Process:

Here is a Gif of the creation process with some more images. I wish I had undo history in Zbrush and could post every Brush stroke here but I had to delete the undo history to keep it easy on my 'not so fast' PC.

Gifs.gif

One more thing I want to mention that if you have noticed the dramatic changes in the forms, it is due to the reason that I didn't use any references so I didn't have anything to stick to or copy from.

Using a reference is not bad at all, it is just my obsession (which I think is bad sometimes).


Final Artwork:

This is the final version with the background and sound.

For the sound or music I played it on a simple app and recorded it on audacity and processed it further in the same application.

Background was created using an image as an alpha and then I sculpted manually over it and then manually poly-painted the texture.

so this is pretty much how I created this Art. Thanks for stopping by guys!! Please share your suggestions and comments with me if you have any. Will see you soon with more Art :))

Sort:  

Glad to see you back my brother ArtLover! You did an excellent job on this artwork. Your skills have drastically improved since the last time you posted. I'm happy that you built up your art skills and developed your talents while you were away.

Perfect community for this lovely alien! hahaha Thanks for sharing it with us and we all look forward to seeing more of your awesome creations!

untitled.gif

Thank you, My Friend!!! So Glad that you liked it. :D 3D is something that I love to do. I like this character as well and I am gonna develop it more and I am pretty sure I am gonna redo the whole concept once I get myself some upgraded technology haha!! For now I better stick to 2D :D

Looks awesome bro, welcome back to Hive

Thank you, Brother!! Feels like those Good Old days!! haha :D

Well, you might have seen from some of my art that i enjoy blue and purple skin! hahaha This was an interesting combo of subject matter. I think 2D will get you by just fine until you get that upgrade bro! Take Care and Keep up the great work.