Fire elemental | digi art practice

in Alien Art Hivelast month (edited)

I finally had some drawing time since the busy season started mid march 🥹 You guys have no idea how swamped and out of it I've been since the season started and since my evening classes and dance classes started 😭
I never imagined my practice time would take such a major setback but oh well, work is work and I need my bills paid.

Anyways, I know I've made art for fire elemental before, but as traditional art. Now I'm doing it digitally 😅
it's nothing too extreme, actually. just a close up half body take.

software: Medibang paint
Duration: 3.5 hours



Loosely based on this, but i definitely didn't make her a full on flame 😅


So I know this still could do more improvements but if i tried too, I think I would have ruined the entire piece plus it's been a while since I made something akin to a humanoid so idk how I'd improve the proportions. I really need to give much more time to digi practice.

Idk if I ever wrote this before but I mostly only make use of the watercolour brush and the airbrush when I use Medibang because they’re the only ones I've found that could give me blending or an opaque layer.


It all started with this sketch that needed way more revisions than I'd hoped for. But at this point of the drawing, I already mostly blended the draft lines already with a dark red outline that I blended into the background layer as well. I was going for like a low light approach here like I usually do with most of my sketches lately. Idk I just love low light art.


Then at this point, I had already moved to orange and yellow hues. cuz when I blend in colors, I learned that moving fiagonally from a color chart really helps give art more depth and vibrancy. very different from monotonous stuff where you just move linear with the saturation. Please not that I'm still using the watercolour brush here because I need the colors to blend in and appear natural (or at least to me 😅)


Then this was my airbrush phase. I wanted the lights to really be light and not blend into the background like what the reds and oranges did. At this point, I needed that glow effect as well as focused lighting and very light strokes to make her look like a glowing flame. What I didn't think of adding was a mini dialogue 🤣 Because she looks like she did something silly but isn't even apologetic for it, but I didn't have the time for it because I had to do stuff again. So this is where my art practice for today ends.


Thank you for reading this far 😊 I'm actually only typing while doing my laundry. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed my little write up and sketch. I'll see if I can free up more time this upcoming long holidays. I'll see you guys another time UwU

Sort:  

Wow she looks menacing!

Oh I think Peakd compressed your image quality. Keep this in mind. If your image size is above 5MB it will get compressed for sure. It happens to me all the time so I don't use 3k canvas now. The artwork is definitely blurry in my eyes. Your old travel blog pics had excellent quality so I'm not 100% sure what's going on unless you drew this on a low resolution canvas.

probably got compressed cuz i was on a 350 dpi and i wrote this on ecency though but i guess they do the same thing??? not sure cuz i never noticed before. kinda sad my art went blurry 🥲

I don't think it's the dpi because I use 350 by default and my latest one used 600 so it's not that. Check the size of the canvas. That's probably it. Ecency seems more blurry compared to Peakd for me. If that wasn't the case I'd probably use that since it's an app.

makes sense cuz my default canvas sinze is at 1k pixels or so cuz I'm blind


Checkout our BDVoter Daily Hive Showcase & Participate into our Daily giveaway to win various prize.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT