Three-Dimensional Reimagining of Frida Kahlo's "The Broken Column"

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

I have a rare two-post week on Alien Art Hive! You lucky ducks.

Today, I present to you, a reimagining of Frida Kahlo's "The Broken Column"

broken 21.jpg


Frida Exhibition

Screen Shot 20210104 at 2.34.02 PM.png

This is a response to @stellabelle's post: FRIDA Exhibition: Call For Artists. I have to admit, prior to the creation of this illustration I did not know much about Frida's life. Yes, prior to this illustration I could spot her face a mile away, I've seen murals, illustrations, paintings, etc depicting her. I could identify a couple works of her art.

It wasn't until last weekend where I spent the better part of an afternoon studying her life. I connected with her story in some ways. I finally caught a glimpse of why so many people celebrate her legacy.

I think what resonated with me most (and likely many others) is despite physical and emotional adversity, Frida managed to hold true to her self and create diligently and fervently.

The Broken Column (Original)

broken.jpg

This work of art created by Frida Kahlo in 1944 shortly after receiving a surgery on her spine.

The image depicts Frida donning a firm face with a face full of tears. Nails pierce her body; a reminder of the constant physical pain she endured after the bus crash. Two large nails pierce her heart, symbolizing emotional and solitary distress.

A metal belt is worn, keeping her body in position; to prevent collapse as her spine, in the painting, is replaced by that of an utterly broken column.

My Illustration, A Tribute

I am hoping that my illustration does even a sliver of justice to the original concept or is, at least, an interesting spin on it.

Pain is synonymous with life itself, I feel. It can sharpen a person, produce insight... Pain can provide wisdom to pass onto someone who may be experiencing something similar. Pain goes without reward. Socially, pain is something that is often stigmatized. Truly, Frida's work is so inspirational to me due to her ability to connect and create a narrative around pain.

So, with this illustration, it is my hopes that wherever Frida resides in the universe, that she is unshackled from the earthly pain she had to endure. That nails are removed and the tears dissipate. May the metal brace be opened and the column be extracted, examined and replaced with something whole. It's clear she is a pillar of strength for so many.

Thanks for reading!


IMG_0146.jpg


Special thanks to @Clayboyn for swiftly purchasing this special one-of-one NFT on @nftshowroom!

Sort:  

!discovery 45


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

very nice! i love this painting you did! so excited to have this first show!

Thank you!! Really appreciate the opportunity to participate in the exhibit!