You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Expectant

in Alien Art Hive2 years ago

I noticed you scooped one up! Thanks for that. Feel free to use that unlockable to recreate that art in your own image or something like that! hahaha

Yes, me and Luci get along quite well. She's a little less crazy than the male i named Dallas from last year. Though, at the time i didn't realize he was a he. I kept looking for a sign (mostly nuts) and never saw any. But, Luci has this obvious row of nipples that made it easy to tell. Maybe soon i can get her to sit on my shoulder or chill in my pocket while i curate! hahaha

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I really want to take a squirre! any tips? I'm guessing food is probably the best way to start

Well, first you have to find one. The next step would be to have some peanuts. The kinds with the shell.... and you can toss them out far so they don't have to get close.

Eventually, they know where to come and when they see you are the one always tossing them they end up liking you. It's sheer bribery.

Toss the peanuts closer and closer. Then, eventually, start to hand them off or make them come desperately close. They will fidget and go back and forth... it takes a lot of patience.

But once you get them to take it from you... then you can shell them (which they appreciate greatly) and you can start to have them come get the shelled peanut too.

I haven't worked out the next steps yet... other than petting her while she eats. hahaha

 2 years ago  

Nice, we have some squirrels hanging around in the backyard and some of them aren't shy at all and run up on the patio so I think it won't be too difficult. My dad just set us up a birdfeeder and there is so much action around it it's like a bird party 😂 A squirrel just found it this morning! `I just recorded this to show my dad:

That's awesome! Were those BlueJays? I was going to say what we do is have a big metal bucket outside to store birdseed and peanuts in. We get these giant bags of roasted or raw peanuts in the shell because they keep longer and have them in the bucket too. I just grab a handful and always have them ready.

If those are BlueJays then they will eat the peanuts too. But, i was going to suggest when you see the squirrel out there you can toss it close to the birdfeeder. Get the squirrel distracted from the bird food with a bigger prize.

You could leave a trail of peanuts also bringing it closer. Just be careful once they get too comfortable on your patio because they can be pretty destructive. We have to patio chairs with holes in the cushions now so the squirrels could get some of the filling i assume to make a nest with somewhere. They also ate the outdoor carpet for fibers too. hahaha

YOU GOT THIS LADY! If none of that works... then just use your Alien Overlord powers.

 2 years ago  

Yeah blue Jays! Just this week was crazy, I also have chickadees, Robin's, crows, little yellow warblers I think, I also saw cranes or some type of huge birds flying overhead and a trio of pheasants! I need a camera strapped to my head 24/7 to catch any of it in video 😂 I think I may have seen an eagle too but I'm not 100% sure and there is an owl somewhere I hear HOO HOOING in the evening. Id live to take some birds but it seems like squirrels going to be a bit easier, the birds are very nervous.

BlueJays, Crows, and Squirrels will all eat the peanuts. That's some pretty diverse variety of birds. If you get some good shots... feel free to share you photos in the Photography Lovers community. I'm sure you will get some squirrel and bird friends in no time! hahaha
untitled.gif