Storm Sorcerer | D&D Commission

Salutations, Terrastrians!

Here's another commission for a return client (a favorite of mine). I really loved working on this and I am overjoyed at how great it came out. This was a challenge because it involved a character acting in their element commanding it and in mid-action.


Concepts and Sketches

How I worked on this would make it the second commission I had to do conceptual design so I could get my head around the character and their element. The difficult part was coming up with a tattoo design that made sense. Luckily, the client already thought of what the design ought to follow... Polynesian tattoos.

I borrowed a lot from the Maori People and their tattoo design. Unfortunately, a lot didn't make the cutting floor except for the tattoos. I still like them and hope I can use them elsewhere someday.


After the design and concept were done, I moved on to do the sketch for the illustration. I came up with some pretty cool mid-action poses and if it were up to me I would have done all of them but the client wanted something that encapsulates the second and third sketches but on top of the ship's crow's nest. A challenging request but an exciting one nonetheless.


Prelim Sketches

It was off to the horse afterwards. I came up with these two. The look the same if you have a passing look. But the main thing was the attitude encapsulated in each of these. The one on the left has a very prideful vibe to it, almost as though the character knows they are the center of the piece. The second one has them more distracted and occupied with the storm, commanding it forcefully.

Unfortunately, I didn't keep much of the process as I was paint the actual illustration but hope you can follow what I've been doing and maybe find some useful tips on how to do this sort of thing.



Thank you for taking that little time to let me share with you.

If you'd like to see or purchase my work and support me, you can visit my socials and Print shop linked below. Otherwise, leave a thumbs up or comment.

Bye-bye!!!



| Twitter | Instagram | ArtStation | BuyMeACoffee | INPRNT Shop |

Art Commission Info



My logo banner collage.jpg

vtrshm circular logo footer boarder trans wht blk bg.png


Tools:

  • Huion Pen Tablet (Inspiroy H430P)
  • Asus Laptop
  • Adobe PhotoShop
  • Clip Studio Paint
Sort:  

It's amazing, I like a lot how you use the references and the way you draw sketches to achieve the final result.

Thank you!

Extremely well done!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more