Into Perspective Mandala - FREE Wallpapers

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

PerspTHUMB.jpg

Hello Alien Art Hive Community!

This is my first post in the community! (tried posting but failed last time since it was my first time posting using peakd). So far so good, it's nice to be back to a now better platform, which I feel has more personality than the old one. It's great that it has a name that holds us together instead of apart. HIVE is US! Like the bees 🐝😁

I've been working on this alien hexagon mandala design. A hexagon is the basic unit of a HIVE. 😋 I love making mandalas and this is an example that includes symmetry in its design. It was completely improvised as I went along. I started it from the center and outwards.

I made the sketch several months ago, and didn't really know how to color it, so I was stuck. I made an effort to begin coloring and in the road I remembered that it's just about having fun - which I keep forgetting. Sometimes I get all knotted up into making something that I can use for this or that or to earn money. In the end the result is always good and I can use it anyways, so I just realize it was all a struggle for nothing. The reason I keep falling into this trap, though, is that for years I have tried to make a business out of my art to live from it, but it's easier said than done. I've honestly missed on the marketing part which is probably the most important (or half as important as the creation part), but I'm trying my best to fix that now. Time to wear the suit! haha 😅

Process

Here's a few images I saved from sketch to vector. First I drew the design on my sketchbook, after dividing the page into sixths with a ruler. I drew it freehand.

1.jpg

2.jpg

I made some of the design mirroring a sixth of the whole.

3.PNG

And here's a little GIF of the coloring process

IntoPerspectiveGIF.gif

Title: Into Perspective

Here's the final results of the artwork which I made into different colored versions.

V1
IntoPerspectiveFINAL1.jpg

V2
IntoPerspectiveFINAL2.jpg

V3
IntoPerspectiveFINAL3.jpg

V4
IntoPerspectiveFINAL4.jpg

V5
IntoPerspectiveFINAL5.jpg

Finally, I added textures and converted them into two different designs in screen-friendly sizes so you can download and use as wallpapers.

Wallpaper V1.0

For the first version, I used this free image for a background.


https://freestocktextures.com/texture/dark-grunge-wall-texture,1303.html

I wanted the design to have an asymmetrical balance, so as you can see, I tilted the image a tiny bit to create movement and instability in it.

Download Links
1280x720 / 1366x768 / 1600x900 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1440

Wallpaper V2.0

I wanted to add some curves and also more movement and texture to the second design, so I started by using the following free image.

photos_2018_4_3_fst_abstractpaintpink.jpg
https://freestocktextures.com/texture/colorful-liquid-paint-surface,1067.html

I used 4 different instances of the image to match with the symmetry in the design.

background.jpg

I also wanted to make something a little more spacey, so I blended this free space image into the design:

skyspacemilkywaystars110854.jpg
https://www.pexels.com/photo/sky-space-milky-way-stars-110854/

The final result is something a little more complex and intricate. I like horror vacui so it's ok, I don't mind images that are overloaded with details, specially if it's a blend of a starry sky with an eye candy of symmetric lines! I like breaking the design rules :)

2.jpg

Download Links
1600x900 / 1024x768 / 1280x720 / 1366x768 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1440


Into Perspective Mandala Coloring Page


If you'd like to support my work, please consider:

  • Making a HIVE donation to my account
  • Buying a copy of this mandala coloring page at Gumroad
  • Acquiring items with my designs in my Redbubble Shop or
  • Spread the word sharing the links to my work

More of my art:

My old account @doodledanga
Doodledanga on facebook
Vosque Atómico (Atomic Forest) on Facebook (my older project where I've published many of my creations)
Also visit my Atomic Forest Society6 Shop
Doodledanga Redbubble Shop

I also have graphic design, motion graphics & video-editing skills. You can check out that kind of work in my facebook page Rey C.

Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Sort:  

This is incredible!! I think V3 is my favorite :D

Thank you Kristy! That's actually my favorite too 😋

 4 years ago  

These are awesome, I'd like to invite you to come tokenize your art on @nftshowroom if you like, we will start reapproving artists applications in the next few days :)

Sure thing! Thank you so much for the invite! I just filled my profile and applied to the whitelist.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!