Raduga: The Dragon of Cycles [EN/ES]

in Alien Art Hivelast year

Hi everyone, long time no see 😉, you have no idea how many posts I've left as drafts after this sentence 😅, but as you can read, I have finally published this post, so I'll stop beating around the bush; today I'm writing to you because after more than a year, I have finished a complete drawing, guys, I have overcome the infinite block! 🎉, and I did it with a very special dragon, keep reading to know its story.

Without further ado, I present to you...

Hola gente, tiempo sin vernos 😉, no tienen ni la más mínima idea de cuantos post he dejado como borrador luego de esta frase 😅, sin embargo, y como pueden leer, ya he publicado este post, así que dejaré de irme por la tangente; hoy les estoy escribiendo porque después de más de un año he terminado un dibujo completo, gente, ¡He superado el bloqueo infinito! 🎉, y lo superé con un dragón muy especial, sigan bajando para que conozcan su historia.

Sin más dilación, les presento a...


Raduga: The Dragon of Cycles

Raduga redux.jpg
Raduga: El dragón de los ciclos

Raduga is special among all my dragons, and you may think I'm saying this because I just finished it and feel like it's my most beloved child, and partly that's true, but Raduga's uniqueness lies in its creative process; I usually start with many references and a very rough sketch, but, Raduga started as a dragon made with K'Nx, a toy that was donated to the language lab, and we used to keep our minds off during blackouts.

Raduga es especial entre todos mis dragones, y pensarán que escribo esto porque lo terminé recientemente y lo siento como mi hijo más querido, y en parte es verdad, pero, la singularidad de Raduga está en su proceso creativo; normalmente empiezo con muchas referencias y un boceto muy sucio, sin embargo, Raduga empezó siendo un dragón hecho con K'Nx, un juguete que nos fue donado al laboratorio de idiomas y lo usábamos para no perder la cabeza cuando había apagones.

modif.jpg


I have to admit that in this part of the process, I can't take all the credit, my lab partners helped me, yes, those who are in the picture, though, when it was finished, I was so excited that I almost immediately made a pencil version, and that one is 100% mine 😉.
Tengo que admitir que en esta parte del proceso no me puedo llevar todo el crédito, me ayudaron mis compañeros de Laboratorio, si esos que están en la foto, sin embargo, cuando estaba terminado, estaba tan emocionada que casi de inmediato hice una versión en lápiz, y ese si es 100% mío 😉.

Garuda 002.jpg


In an alternative universe, this story would have ended here, but in this universe, the pandemic arrived, with the opportunity to dedicate myself to making digital drawings full-time.

From the beginning, making a digital version of Raduga was always in my plans, even before I received my tablet, I had already made the line and base colors in Paint Tool SAI 1, however, I never really liked the result, so I focused on other drawings and left this one forgotten for a year.

En un universo alterno aquí habría terminado la historia, sin embargo, en este universo llegó la pandemia, y con ella la oportunidad para dedicarme a hacer dibujos en digital a tiempo completo.

Desde un principio, hacer una versión digital de Raduga siempre estuvo en mis planes, incluso antes de recibir mi tableta ya había hecho la línea y los colores base en Paint tool SAI 1, sin embargo, nunca me terminó de agradar el resultado, así que me concentré en otros dibujos y este lo dejé olvidado por un año.

02.jpg

When I looked at it again, I already had the tablet and had become familiar with Paint Tool SAI 2 which brought new features that made my creative process easier, and I thought I was finally going to finish it, so I tried to pick up where I left off, but the more I worked on it, the less I liked the original pose, so I redesigned it.
Cuando lo volví a ver, ya tenía la tableta y me había familiarizado con Paint Tool SAI 2 que traía nuevas funciones que facilitaban mi proceso creativo, y pensé que finalmente iba a terminarlo, por eso intenté seguir dónde lo dejé, pero mientras más lo trabajaba, menos me gustaba la pose original, así que lo rediseñé.


With this new design, the process flowed quickly, from the base colors...

Con este nuevo diseño el proceso fluyó rápido, los colores base...

colores base.jpg

The position of lights and shadows

La posición de las luces y sombras

05.jpg

To the rendering of said lights and shadows

El renderizado de dichas luces y sombras

reder.gif

Until it was practically finished, or well, what I considered finished at that time.

Hasta que lo tuve prácticamente listo, o bueno lo que consideraba listo en aquel momento.

10.jpg

I only needed to do the background and finish the details, and I was going to finish my magnum opus, but I was so excited that I became ambitious, answering the simple question of "Where was it?" was not enough, I wanted to tell more, I wanted to answer the question "What was it seeing?", so I came up with the idea of adding a visit from its favorite humans to its lair.

If you take the time to review the drawings I have shared or take a look at my Instagram, you will notice the absence of human beings, and that's because they are my weakness, until that moment I had not made a human figure worth sharing, so adding people with the same quality and detail as Raduga was a very risky bet, even so, I had already finished my best dragon to date, I felt invincible, and that was my mistake.

My slow progress frustrated me, nothing I did fit well with what I had already done, in addition to that, a series of changes were happening in the company where I work that forced me to stop all my extra activities, and so, Raduga returned to oblivion.

Solo me faltaba hacer el fondo, terminar los detalles e iba a finalizar mi obra magna, pero estaba tan emocionada que me volví ambiciosa, responder la simple pregunta de ¿Dónde estaba?, no fue suficiente, quería contar más, quería responder la pregunta ¿Qué estaba viendo?, así se me ocurrió la idea de agregar una visita de sus humanos favoritos a su guarida.

Si se dan la tarea de revisar los dibujos que he les he compartido, o si dan una vuelta por mi Instagram, notarán la ausencia de seres humanos y eso se debe a que son mi debilidad, hasta ese momento no había hecho una figura humana que valiera la pena compartir, entonces, agregar personas con la misma calidad y detalle que Raduga era una apuesta muy arriesgada, aun así, ya había terminado mi mejor dragón hasta la fecha, me sentía invencible y ese fue mi error.

Me frustró mi lento avance, nada de lo que hacía encajaba bien con lo que ya tenía hecho, sumado a eso, estaban ocurriendo una serie de cambios en la empresa donde trabajo que me obligaron a detener todas mis actividades extra, y así, Raduga regresó al olvido.

15.jpg
Concept discarded | Concepto descartado

Fortunately, and as you can see from the cover 😉, this was not the end; a few weeks ago, I was reviewing all my drawings to put together a portfolio, and to my surprise, I discovered that I had never taken Raduga out of the old computer. So, I decided to finish this drawing not only to add it to the portfolio but also because, after so many problems, it deserved to be finished.

I started by returning to the original size of the image and getting rid of the background I had made. Then, I fixed the shadow on the ground, softened the colors, and cleaned the drawing of the small residues I had missed. On the other hand, I decreased the saturation, which was too flashy for my taste, and also I added new locks of hair to cover questionable decisions from my past self 😅.

Afortunadamente y como pueden ver por la portada 😉, este no fue el final; hace unas semanas estaba revisando todos mis dibujos para armar un portafolio, mi sorpresa fue descubrir que nunca había sacado a Raduga de la computadora vieja, por lo que decidí terminar este dibujo no solo para agregarlo al portafolio, sino porque después de tantos problemas merecía estar terminado.

Empecé por regresar al tamaño original de la imagen y deshacerme del fondo que había hecho, luego arreglé la sombra del suelo, suavicé los colores y limpié el dibujo de pequeños errores o residuos que había dejado pasar, por otra parte, disminuí la saturación, que era demasiado chillona para mi gusto, y también agregué nuevos mechones en la melena, para tapar decisiones cuestionables de mi yo pasado 😅.

14.jpg

Finally, I designed a silky and abundant mane and Raduga was finished.

Finalmente, le diseñé una sedosa y abundante melena y Raduga ya estaba terminado.


With my best dragon finished, I focused on the background, learning from my mistakes, so I decided that something simple would be best, in this case, I made a background cliff and some rocks in the foreground, and I started detailing.
Con mi mejor dragón terminado, me concentré en el fondo, aprendiendo de mis errores decidí que algo sencillo iba a ser lo mejor, en este caso, hice un risco de fondo y unas rocas en el primer plano y a partir de allí fui detallando.

18.jpg

Elegí un cielo azul claro y me puse a jugar con los pinceles hasta que obtuve un par de nubes decentes; detallé mucho más el fondo con pequeños arbolitos y grietas tanto en los muros como en el suelo, finalmente agregué las luces e hice un ajuste en el balance de colores.
I chose a light blue sky and played with the brushes until I got a couple of decent clouds; I detailed the background further with small trees and cracks in both the walls and the ground, finally, I added the lights and adjusted the color balance.

20.jpg
23.jpg

21.jpg
26 redux.jpg


Involuntarily, Raduga has always been the beginning and the end of a cycle for me, it was the last drawing I made before the pandemic and one of the first I tried to digitize, it was the last drawing I made an edit on the old computer, and it is the first complete and detailed drawing I finish on this laptop using Clip Studio Paint, realizing this constant made me give it its title, hoping that this is the beginning of a new period of much creativity.

Involuntariamente, Raduga ha sido siempre el principio y el fin de un ciclo para mí, fue el último dibujo que hice antes de la pandemia y uno de los primeros que intenté digitalizar, fue el último dibujo que le hice una edición en la computadora vieja y es el primer dibujo completo y detallado que termino en esta laptop usando Clip Studio Paint, darme cuenta de esta constante me hizo otorgarle su título, con la esperanza de que este sea el inicio de un nuevo periodo de mucha creatividad.

Raduga.gif

I hope you liked the process and story about this dragon and if you have any corrections or suggestions do not hesitate to comment, that will help me to improve.

Espero que le hayan gustado el proceso y la historia detras de este dragón, si tienen alguna corrección o sugerencia no duden en comentarla, eso me ayudará a mejorar.



Tools/Materiales

  • Pain Tool SAI 1
  • Pain Tool SAI 2
  • Clip Studio Paint
  • Tablet Huion H640P

You can found me on/Me puedes encontrar en:
Twitter, Instagram, Artstation

And, you can buy my NFT here/ Puedes comprar mis NFT por aquí:
Nftshowroom

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @dracrow ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @dracrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Me ha encantado tu reseña pues no solo es ese inmenso talento que te caracteriza y siempre lo he dicho, eres la reina de los dragones, precisamente por ese amor que les tienes y que fluye a través de tu arte.

Complacida de leer esta historia y tus sentimientos por esto que amas hacer y estás figuras legendarias que sin duda alguna, transmiten una gran y bonita energía. Larga vida a los dragones, bella! Este te quedó sencillamente espectacular en todo! Éxitos y gracias por compartir tu talento! 🤗😘🥰❤️✨

Muchas gracias, 😁 que bueno que te gustara, es un post con más introspección que los anteriores y no usé el formato al que estaba acostumbrada, pero así llegó y así fluyó.

¡Larga vida a los dragones! 🔥🐉

untitled.gif

❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍❤️😍