2020 vs 2023 | Tyabo Hero Loryforg Fan Art

in Alien Art Hivelast year




In 2020 at the covid lock-in, I was contacted to work on a project that was just being born.

That project is @Loryforg and this year it's about to come out and I was very happy to know about it, it's a turn based card game, in which I designed 49 cards three years ago and it really makes me nostalgic to know that my art will finally be in battle. That's why I got excited and wanted to make a fan art of the last card I painted for them and never showed in hive.

I still have the text description of the character and I wanted to redesign it completely following what the Loryforg team sent me at that time, because there is a big change and the text said that the character has tribal tattoos in gold on the wings and I previously did them on the body because I had no idea how to do this, and it took me 3 years to figure out how to do it.

Name: Tyabo Hero

Card Description: A winged humanoid very similar to an angel, with a wide left wing and three sets of wings on the left side, the wings are black with tribal tattoos in gold. His appearance is that of a 25-30 year old. He has medium long hair, with half of the head shaved, the hair color is beige with dark orange highlights, his skin color is light silver, the sclera of the eyes is black with the iris in the left eye yellow and brown in the right, his build is slender, with well-defined muscles. It is flying over a space with dense orange to white clouds. He is flying imposingly above the clouds, he has a gauntlet with a long blade protruding from the wrist on his right arm and a discreet dagger in his left hand.


2020 Copyright @Loryforg

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

The biggest challenge in the sketch was the wings, so I quickly made a perspective guide to square them correctly so that the three wings would have the right depth, and I tried to make the right wing cover as much space as possible on the canvas to denote its large size.

-Step 2:

Then I gave quick details in gray to have the first sensations of depth, but I also took advantage of this to separate each element of the character in different layers, this way I could work the armor without affecting the skin of the character.



-Step 3:

The color palette was somewhat easy since I simply had to stick to the character description and I already had the card I originally designed for the game as a reference, but this time I tried to give a more dramatic tone to the clouds in the background.

-Step 4:

With the transform tool, I resized the character, since I felt that his head was too big compared to his body, and he didn't look slender enough, so I gave more prominence to the hand that holds the dagger, since it is in the foreground. On the other hand, I was detailing the armor, trying to make its texture very shiny and worthy of someone with the appearance of an angel.

-Step 5:

What I wanted to leave for the end of course were the wings, since in the original design I had done photobashing on them, but this time I wanted to paint them feather by feather, after doing that, I added a pattern of a tribal design I found on pinterest, set its layer to vivid light blending mode and applied a layer mask, on it I erased the fragments where I wanted the golden tattoo not to stand out too much, like the shadows between the feathers and then I gently gave a brush stroke with a light color on the edge of the wings to give a sense of depth and blend with the light background.




I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️