An Explosive Little Joke | Splinterlands Art Contest

in Alien Art Hive8 months ago (edited)


Fight



The explosive Thugs are Here

For a couple of weeks now I've been feeling very ambitious when it comes to making art for the weekly Splinterlands contest, and it's gotten to the point that I've run out of time to finish my entry for this week, and I could have left it for next week, but I have another great idea that I'm already very anxious to do, so I'm practically in a race against time and against the level of detail I want to achieve in my entries for the contest.

Anyway, let's move on to the action, because in this painting I wanted to capture the fun of exploding things and pissing off people that nobody should mess with, and I have brought together two quite crazy and disorderly pyromaniacs, Gremlin Blaster, the TNT lover, and Gobson Bomber, the one in charge of blowing things up. Putting these two together is already a risk to health and public order, but that's not enough for me and I've sent them to annoy Grum Flameblade, do they have a chance to beat Grum? never! but the point is to annoy him and try to get out of this prank alive, it will be the coolest feat of their lives until they find someone bigger to blow up his panties.

min.jpg

Play Splinterlands Now❕

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

The idea of the sketch was always a dynamic flight, in fact Grum was not supposed to be more than a silhouette since the main characters are the bombers. And yes, I also think that the first sketch of Gobson Bomber looks a little bit like Stich from Lilo & Stich.

-Step 2:

I knew I would be short of time, so at the time of coloring the characters, I tried to do it as direct as possible, without thinking too much about the light of the environment, but I went straight to paint them in green, because this is the skin color of the three characters, so I tried to give them a different shade of green to each one, so they would not look very flat and unrecognizable at first glance.

-Step 3:

Then I worked in the environment, which was reduced to a big explosion from which Grum emerges, but also take the opportunity to detail as much as possible the characters, at this point I focus a lot on the Gremlin, since he is a character that I have always found very funny and naughty, it was also one of my first choices when starting to draw for the Splinterlands contest, but at that time I was a little afraid to do very ambitious things or involving many characters



-Step 4:

To try to maintain a difference in the depth planes, I darkened Gobson Bomber who is the closest to the camera. Did it look exactly as I planned? Well no, as I told you before, I was a little short of time, I really needed about a day more to improve the colors and depth details, I know it is a lot but in what I have done so far it has taken me a day and a half, which is a lot for many artists, but it is what it takes me to achieve the paintings that I really like.

For example, now that it's been a while since I last saw this piece I can notice that Gobson has become very dark and there's not much distinctive about him but his red eyes, the Gremlin has lacked more highlight in the sail of his head and Grum doesn't even hold his sword, besides that there's a lack of some construction or tree behind Grum and more particle where there are explosions.

Since I have criticized my artwork, you tell me, did you find the concept funny?


I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

Beautiful work mate. I love the dynamic scene! Gratulations for honorable mention! 🙌