Being a bit Experimental: Pink and Steel | Digital Painting

in Alien Art Hive7 months ago




Since some time ago you will notice that I've only been doing art for Splinterlands, and that's great because it has helped me a lot to improve my art and make dynamic scenes and very different from each other, also I practice a bit the Splash arts style of League of Legends or Legends of Runeterra which is a style that I love, but it is also true that I have not painted anything else besides that.

Just a few weeks ago in my painting of Mimosa Nightshade, @leeendah and @masummim50 wrote me in the comments that it gave them a Cyberpunk vibe because of the lighting and the latex of her costume, and since then I've been wanting to paint something cyberpunk style, but also, I wanted to experiment a little, not going to the usual painting style I've been doing these last months.

I wanted to experiment a little bit, not that I'm going to revolutionize the art and create a new artistic trend, but I wanted to add something that I love about graphite drawings, and that is the shading in raster and the fact to keep drawing without erasing the sketch guidelines, that's why this painting doesn't have super detailed finishes and it's not even finished at the bottom. I hope you like it and let me know if you have seen something like this before.

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

As I said before, I wanted the lines of the sketch to remain present until the final result of the painting, that's why I really spent time to make an eye catching sketch something that by itself would look good and that if I posted it on Instagram people would find a good illustration in their feed.



-Step 2:

The next step was to apply a color palette with striking but harmonious tones. For the skin I added a texture and tried as little as possible to alter it so I used the blend mode multiply to add shadows and overlay for the highlights.

-Step 3:

I tried a completely white background and it made the girl stand out a lot, but I really wanted some neon graffiti right behind her, I was also testing a brush with a pretty cool paint texture, in fact you can see that it emulates quite well the strokes made by a real brush. On the other hand, the outer lines of the sketch being black on a dark background did not stand out at all, so I painted them white so they could be seen easily.



-Step 4:

And finally comes the really cyberpunk, the mechanical arm, here was where I looked for the brightest colors that the color circle could give me and I applied them without compassion to that metallic texture, but at the same time I combined it with some tones similar to her skin as if trying to show that at some point she tried to hide that her arm is not natural or what do I know. I also had this large area of empty skin right on the girl's abdomen that I didn't want to fill with futuristic or mechanical elements, so I opted for a tattoo, not one as defined as the ones I did for the Onis series of paintings, but with a quite attractive design.

zoom.jpg

I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

Glad to see you expanding your art horizons beyond only splinterlands!

Trying out new things is always a fun experience, you did amazing with this one. Love her hair and eyes, beautiful work...

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Great illustration, good job, I liked the color palette you used, greetings.

Beautiful work the texture looks really interesting.