Coastal Nymph | Splinterlands Art Contest

in Alien Art Hive7 months ago





We are once again close to the water

Because this week it's time to return to a character that I like for the challenge it represents, and is that I am an artist who has been growing through practice and self-learning, I have never gone to an art academy or anything like that, so I always feel that I have a point where I always falter, the color in my digital paintings.

And that's why I've painted a second time Coastal Nymph, a beautiful but violence inclined nymph, who has that one thing that is always difficult for me, a color palette with very similar tones between them, the Splinterlands game card design shows this character in a completely blue palette, only interrupted by some pink touches, but that in turn these are also very cold. The first time I made a fan art of this character, I ended up with a too blue illustration and this time I wanted to see what I was able to achieve with this same character a few months after I painted her for the first time.

So join me to see the step by step of this second and new fan art of Coastal Nymph.

Play Splinterlands Now❕

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

The first time I painted Coastal Nymph I placed her in a very powerful pose looking directly at the camera, but this time I wanted to give her another perspective, one in which she is more at peace by the water, a side of her that she doesn't show in public.

-Step 2:

Here begins the headache of the colors, first I applied the base colors of the character, but giving a little more strength to the pink of her clothes and surrounding it with brushstrokes with dark tones to make it stand out. Immediately after I went straight to detailing her face since I wanted to leave that ready from the beginning of the painting.

-Step 3:

Once the skin looked smooth and with most of its details defined, I went to work on the hair, giving it a lot of contrast using a blue very close to purple, this made me achieve a clear difference in tone with respect to the skin of the nymph, which I accompanied with bright edges looking to simulate metal on the edge of the clothes.

-Step 4:

Using the colors that I had already painted around the nymph, I built the background, as I said, since I didn’t want everything to look very blue, treat this water like a pond where the water is calm and the water lilies float gently, Yes, I know she’s the nymph who lives on the coast of the ocean, but remember that there are forests near the sea with rivers that connect them directly, or at least that’s the story I’ve mounted on my head to justify my painting

-Step 5:

To completely direct the focal point to the nymph and that this was not clouded by the brightness of magic in the water, what I have done is to zoom a little to the character and so have it closer to the camera. Then I continued working on the small details like the small waves on the sides of her hair or her necklace of pearls and seashells, I also gave some color touches with a super soft brush and the modes of fusion "hard light" and "overlay"with this I was looking for a better integration in the lighting but without going over and doing everything completely blue, you know that’s what I always wanted to avoid



And here is the comparison between both fanarts of this nymph. Which one do you like more?

Zoom


I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

!1UP Good work!


!PGM !PIZZA

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @underlock!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@monster-curator, @oneup-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@curation-cartel(5/20) tipped @hadley4