Contessa L'ament | Splinterlands Art Contest

in Alien Art Hive6 months ago





Splinterlands is spooky

Halloween ended over a week ago, but I was left wanting to keep doing spooky stuff, and Splinterlands has tons of scary characters that have a very dark energy.

And I wanted to go for a character that I think is not very popular in battle, she has a short lore but a character design that seduced me to paint her and I immediately imagined her in the middle of a witchcraft session creating a very tense atmosphere but full of power and mysticism.

But you tell me, do you fight with her or is it a very weak card in battle?

Play Splinterlands Now❕

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

The lore of her says that she uses a frightening and hoarse voice, but as that can't be clearly captured in a painting, I have chosen to give her a more mysterious appearance with that finger indicating silence and letting the power manifest itself. Apart from the sketch, I also want to show you the layers of flat colors that I use to separate the elements of the composition.

-Step 2:

From the flat colors of the base, the fun begins, trying to give volume to each element, I focus initially on the skin of the witch, then follow with a modest brightness in the layer of the witch and at once I took the opportunity to give a little shape to the background.

-Step 3:

Here I know there is a breakthrough in the painting process, but you can see it in more detail in the gif below, but basically what I have done is to define the background, creating a bookcase and a semi-transparent curtain with a gothic air.

I have detailed the skin of the arms and I have redesigned the pose of one of the hands, because I wanted to show a ball of energy between the fingers of the left hand. And of course we have to talk about the elephant in the room, the candlestick with the candles, to which I tried to give the best possible metal texture.

-Step 4:

It was time to work on the face, or at least on the mask that covers it, to this mask I have eliminated the nostrils because it had an aspect closer to the masks of the black plague and I still don't know what it is that is on the shoulders and around the neck of the witch, but anyway I tried to respect it and emulate it as best as possible.

-Step 5:

Finally I have focused on all the little things that still needed to be defined, including some bottles to fill the shelf in the background and I also added the skull that Contessa holds in her hand in the Splinterlands card design, although I added blur and a little noise to disguise that I have been lazy to detail 100% that skull.

And the book on the table couldn't be any other than a Splinterlands spell book, I even thought it was strange that I had never added it in any other Splinterlands fan art I've done, but here it fits perfectly.

So tell me in the comments, do I make another scary fan art or do I go for something more colorful? I want to try the new Rebellion pack cards.




I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

I like the scene you have created here!

Thank you mate!

Estás recibiendo un voto por parte del proyecto "HiveArte" (@hive-134572).

Su publicación fue seleccionada para nuestro reporte de curación semanal.
Contáctenos para saber más del proyecto a nuestro servidor de Discord.

Si deseas delegar HP al proyecto: Delegue 5 HP - Delegue 10 HP - Delegue 20 HP - Delegue 30 HP - Delegue 50 HP - Delegue 100 HP.

Wow, love this @hadley4!