Flaming Golem | Loryforg's Fan Art

in Alien Art Hive4 months ago




Do I love drawing characters from card games? Absolutely! And this time, it's the turn of @Loryforg. In case you don't know what it is, it's a new turn-based combat card game with a fantasy world full of Steampunk elements that is currently in its beta phase. That's precisely why I've created fan art of one of its characters.

I've practically taken on the mission of creating fan art every time they make a significant announcement. A couple of months ago, when the game was announced, I painted Tyabo Hero, a being with grayish skin and rather eye-catching wings due to their disposition. Today, I bring you Flaming Golem to celebrate the announcement of the game's Beta offline release.

Almost four years ago, I was contacted by the Loryforg team to illustrate the 500 cards (if my memory serves me right) they had planned for their future game. 500 ideas that seemed incredible to me, and I undoubtedly accepted without hesitation. I ended up painting 50 cards for them, and I enjoyed each one of them. However, I won't lie, some I couldn't do due to my lack of experience, especially those illustrations of vehicles.

hat some characters don't have very good finishes or could have a better design. That's why I wanted to revisit Flaming Golem, a being formed of rock and fire. In the past, I portrayed him as a solemn being, and since then, I've thought that a more aggressive attitude, given his volatile nature, would suit the character better. So, on the left, you have the original Flaming Golem, and next, we'll see the step-by-step of his new version.

🔸Join the Loryforg's Discord now🔸


Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

As I mentioned before, I wanted the golem to have a very aggressive look. So, this time, I sketched it facing the camera, with its eyes full of fire and its rocky jaw with sharp edges. I also took the opportunity to rearrange the ruins around it, according to what I remember from four years ago. The golem was formed from this ruined building, so I couldn't get rid of this environment around it.

-Step 2:

Since the sketch didn't have very well-defined lines, I decided to set it aside and start shading directly on the base color, aiming to create some volume through a soft brush. I also shaped the 'muscles' of the golem with lines of fire.



-Step 3:

I decided to challenge myself with the rock. If there's something I'm not very good at, or at least haven't practiced enough, it's buildings and stone textures. So, I added as many stones and sections of small rocks as I could throughout the golem's body. Of course, I had to rely on Pinterest references to achieve something decent.



-Step 4:

Since the rock on the golem's body is imbued with fire, I thought it appropriate to give strong red tones around the rocky areas, creating greater contrast and allowing me to add orange tones directly to the stones that make up the body of this rocky being. I also enlarged one of the shoulders by adding a large piece of stone to it and changed the posture of the hands a bit.

-Step 5:

For the final rendering, I made use of many of Photoshop's tools, among them the gaussian blur for the background, the tone adjustment and the camera raw filter to balance the colours of the painting, I also painted the fire and then applied a motion blur to simulate that it is a whirlwind of flames, and I also painted the edges of the character, in order to highlight it from the background, as you can see it was something I missed to do four years ago with the previous Golem.

And now that you can see both golems together, tell me which design do you like more, the new aggressive one or the old solemn one?
I also hope to see your fan arts once the game is released, or I'd like you to test the Beta and draw their characters.

I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

I feel like the new aggressive is made up of a more relaxed but powerful structure, like he knows he is in control of being able to destroy something. I feel like you achieved it, excellent work, greetings!

 4 months ago  

Super cool version, happy holidays!

No words my friend... I really liked the design and the textures ufff are great!