The Evangelist who cries out for her goddess | Splinterlands Art Contest

in Alien Art Hive7 months ago (edited)





Scream for victory (and deafen your enemies while you're at it).

Welcome once again to this your favorite last minute participation post for the Splinterlands weekly contest, as usual I come to present you a painting that I finished five minutes ago, so therefore I will complain that I did not have enough time to render the piece as I wanted.😂

Ok, I won't do that, but I have finished a couple of minutes ago the illustration of one of the characters that I think don't have enough prominence in the Splinterlands fan arts, it's about the evangelist of the goddess Khymia, the one who is proclaiming her prophecies loudly, and what a voice because she is able to immobilize her enemies in battle with the power of her oral cords, although I would try not to get in front of her while she screams, because her attacks do not distinguish between allies and enemies.

Play Splinterlands Now❕

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

This character reminds me a lot of Black Canary from DC Comics since they practically have the same power, so while looking for references for a pose of a screaming girl, I basically focused on avoiding all the poses used to represent Black Canary and opted for werewolf poses, since they are always screaming fiercely at the camera, but the challenge was to adapt that pose to a young lady's pose.

-Step 2:

With the base colors I was very modest, as I used very muted colors and close to gray, I intended that all the protagonism was taken by the gusts of power of the cries of the evangelist, although what I did was to separate each element in different layers, you know that I do this to facilitate the work when it comes to detailing.

-Step 3:

To correct the monotony of the base colors, I gave contrast with strong shades of color, this to emphasize the scream, since I wanted all the attention to focus on her face, that is why the first thing I did was to establish the illumination of her face and from there work on the rest of her skin.

-Step 4:

As I say for me all the protagonism is in the face of the evangelist, so you will see that her mouth is one of the most detailed that I have ever painted, I have even painted the uvula, that little thing that hangs at the bottom of the mouth, what I struggled with for a while was with the nose, since you don't see it but I made different types of nose looking for the one that would adjust to the power of her scream, but the more aggressive the movement of the nose, the older the evangelist looked, and I wanted her to look young, so I had to soften many lines of expression.



-Step 5:

Yes, yes, a lot of detailing the clothes and so on, but what I really wanted to highlight was the power of her scream, so I made some yellow hoops and followed the advice of @yanes94, who had suggested me to use the radial blur for this kind of paintings with screams, also I reworked a bit the effect of the hoops with the Smudge tool to give them sharper edges and more like sound waves. Also to make these sound waves more prominent I had to darken everything except the face of the evangelist, so I got a focal point directly to her mouth and if you are very observant you can see that the point of attention goes to her uvula although this time it is not so visible.




I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

don't think I've seen this character before but dang, that's a pretty dynamic piece you've made this time

Yeah, she's a character I haven't seen too many fan arts of, which I find strange because she would look great in a fighting painting

i also don't get it cuz she has pretty good attributes too for like the drawing effects. but then there are a lot of underrated cards in spl that don't get enough fan art

Well, sometimes I try to look for those cards that almost nobody paints, so I would appreciate if you give me a hand recommending cards to paint

hmm i was looking at the dwarves before. forgot which dwarves but I've been trying to do the same with drawing underappreciated characters 🤣

Muy bueno hermano me ha gustado mucho su expresión 😍

Gracias Jordan! 🤗

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

It is an amazing art work
Peace

Thank you buddy!