Digital Illustration: Fourth Version of my Original Character

in Alien Art Hivelast month

Digital Illustration: Fourth Version of my Original Character

May 2, 2024

I have been working on the fourth version of my original creation... the Filipino Martial Arts (FMA) expert turned masked vigilante.
Check out the timelapse at the end of this post

In my original concept, he is wearing a Filipino 'salakot' a wide-brimmed hat made of rattan strips. He is also wearing a half-face mask covering his upper face.

His upper garment was a Japanese gi with sleeves taken off. The pants are made of soft flexible cloth. He is armed with several traditional Filipino weapons, including a pair of hexagonal arnis sticks made of rare ironwood (I will reveal the name of the wood soon). He also has a bolo or other traditional Filipino bladed weapon on his side.

Version 2

In the second version, I gave him a leather, sleeveless leather overcoat. The coat hides the smaller weapons like daggers, throw knives, and karambit.

Version 3

In this version, although he is not wearing the salakot in this version, it is still part of his costume. In this version, I wanted to show the red bandana. The face paint would help hide his identity and make him more fearsome.

The face paint was inspired by one of the the characters in the movie Expendables 4.

This is not finished. The gray loin cloth is supposed to be multi-colored, similar to a traditional "bahag".

Version 4.

After doing some research on pre-colonial Filipino armor. I learned that they used several types of armor, including carabao (water buffalo) skin armor.

With more new information, a lot of details played in mind and I decided to revise my character's costume once again.

I have to admit, I have forgotten about the face paint already.

I think I will add that and other features as this project progresses.

The Process

Using Pencil and Paper Again

Sketch and Outlining.

I've been creating my illustrations using my tablet almost exclusively. I kinda missed the feel of the point of the pencil gliding on the surface of the paper. So I decided to start sketching with pencil on paper.

Then I took a picture of the sketch and traced it in Medibang Paint

Base Color
I added separate layers for the base colors for the skin, clothes, weapons, and hair.

Shading, Highlighting, and Other Details
Then I added a few more layers to add the shades and highlights.

Then I added a separate layer for the details.

The Background

I have to admit, I cheated on the background. I used ideogram.io to generate the background. I tried several times. Make some details of the prompt each time. I wanted to have more stars, but I decided to make do with this one.


Timelapse

In closing, here is a timelapse recording of the process.

Thank you for your time.


Post No. 2024-35
Date Posted: May 4, 2024.
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.
* The cover was created using Canva
Check me out on other platforms. linktr.ee/jlinitiatives

Sort:  

Damn, great OCs! I love the inspo behind it. The salakot is the best!

!PIZZA

Thank you! He will be using the salakot from time to time. hehehe.

Congratulations @jloberiza! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jijisaurart(6/10) tipped @jloberiza