Aquariums: Experimenting with colours and textures

Greetings, artists from all worlds and all realities!

I've changed my are of focus from cottages to various building and environments, and this week is following the "aquarium" theme. I hope you like it!

The following images were made using my custom build of Disco Diffusion, photo-manipulation and digital drawing through Gimp and Inkscape, and post editing/composition in darktable.

More of my creations here

Blank 5 Grids Collage.jpg

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

First aquarium

Aquarium(1)_compo1_up2_signed.jpeg

I've come to realize that, the worse are the sketches that you feed to Disco Diffusion, the weirder the shapes and architectures that come out of it. And, since my field is 3D and not drawing, my sketches are usually... bad.

Turns out that's great, my lack of skill is the perfect fuel for DD in the process of creating scifi structures!

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

Second Aquarium

Aquarium(2)_compo1_up2_signed.jpeg

Also, if you have never done that, I recommend to try painting colours and shapes on your initial image (if you use one), to try to create a colour tone/scheme on your creation, of "what could be". For example, I painted a lot of green and turquoise blobs around an empty image, without any shape but playing on the colour gradient. And it turned into this!

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

Third Aquarium

Aquarium(3)_compo1_up2_signed.jpeg

Now we are reaching the area of real experimentation. I recently acquired a new brush collection to use on Gimp, Inkscape and Blender, and I decided to go crazy with random coloring my initial image, still without any shape. I think we could say I'm making "custom noise" to feed the AI, instead of generating through the program? But more precise and defined noise maybe than what Disco would do.

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

Fourth Aquarium

Aquarium(4)_compo1_up2_signed.jpeg

This one was actually a photo taken from my balcony of the city, that I've DRENCHED in virtual paint on Inkscape with the new brushes I was talking about, and fed it to the AI with minimum influence on the desired result. Some shapes and colours were preserved, but most of if the original influence is gone.

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

Fifth Aquarium

Aquarium(5)_compo1_up2_signed.jpeg

And for this last one, to try something new, I generated the initial image with Stable Diffusion with a prompt that has nothing to do with aquariums, then got the result back into DD to generate on top of it.

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2Z8TdzS68pmxJ9nJMNsDfhrag3J2q3e5YmUE95nFhLkVXnJA.png

That's all for today, I hope you liked what you saw and what you read, if you did or not just let me know in a comment, you know you have the power to influence what I will make next! Let me know what you would like to see!

Also, if you want to check out more of my generative work, or 3D design, or even artworks, check me out on Instagram or or everywhere else, where I publish most of what I do.

Sort:  

!discovery 35


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Love it!

these are really cool. i never heard of disco diffusion. i will check it out.