Hel

The Goddess of the underworld in Norse mythology. Her skin should be part bluish like a corpse, part normal human skin. She has a knife called hunger and a plate called famine. Her hall is called Eljudnir, the rain-wet, and it has the colours of darkness and flesh. Her realm lies below the tree of the world, so I let her hair grow upwards to be part of the roots of Ask Yggdrasil.

Another evening painting made yesterday, while my wife lay on the sofa sleeping under a small mountain of wool and feather duvets.

The knife on the picture is actually my own design. I have made it together with my brother, who is a black smith in his spare time. It is inspired by Nordic Iron Age knives and is used every day in my kitchen.

Hel_700.jpg


Hel

streg.png

High resolution file:

streg.png

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill
Link to: https://katharsisdrill.art

Sort:  

The old gods are much more interesting than what I was brought up on. I might have believed in these, or at least read the stories.

Have you mentioned your knife before? It sounds familiar.

!BEER

Yes, there's a lot to gain by reading the original Icelandic texts on the Norse mythology.

As for the knife I just found those old posts. @evilhippie made a post about how he made the knives: https://peakd.com/craft/@evilhippie/the-birth-of-a-blade-6-the-madsted-knife

!ENGAGE 25

Have you read Gaiman's version? I assume he does not read Icelandic. I think I saw someone had based a comic on his book.

Those knives are really cool. Did you see the show Ragnarok on Netflix? I liked how the 'giants' had all their kitchen knives just stuck in a log. Possibly not best from a safety point of view.

No, I haven't read it, but it has done a lot to further the knowledge among people I think. Here in Denmark the stories are everywhere in children's literature, comics and books in Danish his book has a lot of competition (I guess we are rather proud of these old tales). I did read his American Gods which was great, and it also has some of the old Norse tales in it, not least the hanging of Odin.

I need to check out the next season of American Gods on TV. It's a long time since I read the book, so that needs another read.

It's a TV show! Didn't know that :) I will look it up tomorrow.

Wow! It's amazing.


Hey @katharsisdrill, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 85000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is February 1st 2021