Jörmungandr

In Denmark, where I live and was born, you will always be close to the sea. No matter where you are in the country, you will never be more than 50 kilometers away from a beach. So of all the creatures of the Norse mythology, the midgard's worm, Jörmungandr is the one that was most vivid in my imagination. I am not sure I come even close to the way I think about this creature in this painting - I might try again some other time.

These days, with homeschooled, quarrelling daughters, and a slightly distracted brain I am really producing a lot of unplanned things that goes in all kinds of directions...

Jörmungandr_700.jpg


Jörmungandr

streg.png

High resolution file:

streg.png

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill
Link to: https://katharsisdrill.art

Sort:  

Cool Painting!!! I am from Latin America but I always feel fascinated about Nordic culture and mythology 😍

Thanks! I was always fascinated with South and Latin America actually.

❤️ maybe we can make a cultural exchange 🤭

Yes :) Maybe we already are :)

Beautiful painting. I love the norse mythology. Maybe next time you feel like painting Naglfar ;) I wish you much energy with homeschooling. I´m lucky that my daughter isn´t going to school yet, I have few months left before that.

Thanks! Maybe Naglfar will be on the program one day. Most of the artworks I make in the Katharsisdrill project is not planned, but just what takes my fancy. I did have a make-a-wish series here on Hive once, so maybe I should do that again :) But as I am Danish the Norse mythology was an integral part of my childhood and motives do pop up now and then.

Odin

Sol

Idunna

I think in the UK you are supposed to always be within 100 miles of the sea, but we are right in the middle. I read Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology that talks about the worm. Those guys had weird imaginations. I think that has carried down to you.

Maybe it has. Genetical weird imagination.