Rorschach Fraktals and Labrador retrievers.

Time for a Alien Art Hive meta-post!

My friend @nyarlathotep, with whom I have once cooperated in making an art work, posted some of his fine and frisky fractals yesterday here on the Art Hive itself, and he dared me to prove that I really had seen that chaos Labrador retriever with a beak and a bird. (Go to his post and see thing yourself!)

So here are the three Rorschach images and what I saw - painted on top.
labradbeak.jpg
A maimed Labrador Retriever with a beak; warped by chaos and with a featherless bird on its head

nyarlasrorshaktrans.jpg
A moth transformer. Can possibly change into a VW Beetle

nyarlasrorshakskeletor.jpg
Skeletor from Masters of the Universe in some fancy haute couture.

Afterwards I got to think of the comic Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons, where the Character Rorschach is in prison and has to look at Rorschach tests with a psychiatrist.

IMG_20200428_103218.jpg

The text is in Danish (as I have scanned it from my own copy), but the psychiatrist ask him to tell what he really sees. Earlier in the book he has answered that he saw a beautiful butterfly.

Sort:  

Hahaha, the Beaked Labrador with Bird on Top is just awesome!

I have recently re-read this wonderful comic by the High Priest Alan. It must be noted that what Rorschach sees in the therapy sessions are not just violent fantasies of a madman, it is a series of unfortunate events that culminate with the dead dog, and trigger his final plunge into madness. Such well-written characters is what made Watchmen one of the best and most-influential comics ever.

Watchmen is a masterpiece...

Wonderful @katharsisdrill , this always happen to me, It's the artist in us, I see imagery and illustrated stories everywhere, from carpet patterns in the old Aubusson to the intricate characters in the paisley curtains donning my studio room windows.

Yes, you are so right. Artists are probably terrible at doing the Rorschach test.

SEEN THIS ONE BEFORE.

YES, I KNOW. I ... UH... I THOUGHT YOU MIGHT HAVE BEEN HOLDING BACK BEFORE AND I WANTED TO TRY IT AGAIN.

GO ON. TELL ME WHAT YOU REALLY SEE.